Skip to content

March 17 – Train Up A Child In The Way He Should Go

March 17, 2012

“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly,” – Psalm 1:1  

My children are and have been an incredible blessing to me, even with all the ups and downs.  One thought that struck me from early marriage and even as a young parent was this… I get one chance to get it right.  Well, the verdict is in… I have failed.  Not because my adult children turned out badly, they didn’t.  I am quite proud of them.  Not because they have made bad choices that have led them deep into immorality or lifestyles unacceptable to God; they didn’t.  Rather, because I could not and cannot do everything perfect like I once thought.  I am a sinner, nothing but a sinner; and I will never be anything but a sinner.  In and of myself, that is who I am; but I am saved by the unmerited favor of God.  I have made many a mistake (listen to me, as if it was not that bad).  Mistakes? Sure.  But I have failed in much bigger ways than mistakes.  I have intentionally chosen to do selfish things while my family suffered.  I have chosen to walk after my own interests with no concern for them. No, not all the time.

We still read the Bible often.  I worked with them to memorize scripture.  I taught them Biblical principles many a time and I tried to instill in them a love for people, service to others and ministry.  Yet, I am a sinner.  My children have chosen to walk in the Christian way, not because of me, but in spite of the example I have set.  For that, I am very thankful.

But I can tell you one thing, the observation I made early on is still true.  I only get one opportunity to raise them in the ways of God.

I am going to be looking at this subject for several days and will discuss some biblical principles that are important for me to remember as I continue to lead my children.

I am serious about saving their souls.  One of the first things I want to mention is the following:  I risk losing them if I choose to use worldly counsel instead of God’s Word for rearing them.

The world can’t offer to me the answers I need for raising my children.  It doesn’t matter how well they are trained or how many degrees they have; if it is not from a godly perspective, I am only getting teaching (doctrine) from men.  God knows human nature better than anybody else. He made the children, and has entrusted them to my care for a few years.  He did not leave me without a manual.  I should be diligent in seeking what God wants for these children, and how I as a father, should train them.

Hosea 4:6 says, “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge…”  Hosea 8:12 says, “I have written to him the great things of my law, but they were counted as a strange thing.”

May I seek God’s word.  I believe He has the answers I need and provides everything to train them up in the way they should go. (Prov. 22:6)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 1:01 am

    Thanks for the light and love. Good stuff.

  2. March 17, 2012 4:10 pm

    I agree wholeheartedly. The two verses you present in your post, Psalm 1:1, and Hosea 4:6 are spot on with regarding to bringing up children in the way they should go, and it applies to every situation in life as well.

Leave a Reply

