Skip to content

March 16 – My Experience With Anger

March 16, 2012

“The heart of the righteous studieth to answer: but the mouth of the wicked poureth out evil things.” – Proverbs 15:28

I do control my temper, when it is important enough to do so.

I’ve had those days where I was in the middle of an argument with Kathie (not one of my proudest moments), and right in the heat of the moment, my boss from work called about something related to business.  I immediately responded in a calm and controlled manner.  Or, I’ve “lost it” with the kids, and right at the peak of a screaming voice, the doorbell rings.  I answer the door with a smile and a “how do you do?” as if nothing was going on.  I’m really good at masking.  What a hypocrite.  It was one of my elder’s wives coming to visit Kathie.  Wow, how embarrassing; how humiliating. I knew she heard me through the door.  What must she think?… not so much about the yelling, but about how well I could shut it down and act like everything was perfectly okay.

I can control my anger, when I really want to.  If I can control my temper for the sake of other people, why not do it for God?  Is God important enough for me to stop and control my anger? Of course.

I must not bottle it up, but I must never just speak whatever comes to mind. I should give an answer, but I should also study on it first.

“A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” – Proverbs 15:1

How can I have anger toward my fellow-man when I fully recognize Christ’s love for me?  How can anger be in my heart man when I look at the unselfish gift on the cross of Calvary?

Rom 5:8 – But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

Mat 5:21-24 – Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment:  But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.  Therefore if thou bring thy gift to the altar, and there rememberest that thy brother hath ought against thee; Leave there thy gift before the altar, and go thy way; first be reconciled to thy brother, and then come and offer thy gift.”

Jesus was all about reconciliation.  I, too, need to be about forgiveness and love toward my family, brethren, neighbor and even the stranger I meet on the streets.

Leave a Reply

