Skip to content

March 15 – I Choose To Control My Temper

March 15, 2012

“He that is slow to anger is better than the mighty; and he that ruleth his spirit than he that taketh a city.”Proverbs 16:32

Anger can be controlled.  Jesus was angry at times; was tempted in all points like I am, but He did not sin (Heb. 4:15).  He controlled His anger, and He has called me to do the same.

As I consider what it is to walk in His footsteps, I realize that He is telling to control my anger.  Ephesians 4:26 – “Be angry and sin not.” Even Proverbs tells me in 29:11, “A fool vents his feelings, but a wise man holds them back.”

I should not bottle it up, refusing to say what needs to be said; but I must control my anger also: I must hold it back.

Fact: I can restrain my spirit, and God tells me to do so.  Many other passages refer to this as “temperance”, or self-control.  This is an essential characteristic of a Christian.  Every passage that teaches self-control is a passage that tells me I can and should control my temper. For instance:

1Co 9:25-27 – “And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.  I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air:  But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.”

I can accomplish whatever God commands me to do.  God does not command the impossible, nor does He tell me to do something I have no ability to do.  Besides, even if I cannot, He who lives in me is greater than any obstacle.  “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.”

1 Corinthians 10:13 –  There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”

There is never an excuse for disobeying what God teaches me.  To say I cannot control my temper is to say God is not faithful.  What I must do is to look for the way of escape.  There is no excuse for failing to control my temper.  God tells me to and I must answer for it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 10, 2012 3:59 pm

    This is one that I have had to struggle to control most of my adult life. When to respond and when not to.Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Short temper,long walk « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

