Skip to content

March 14 – Bottling Up My Anger

March 14, 2012

“…let not the sun go down upon your wrath:” – Ephesians 4:26

While one way anger often gets handled is “losing control,” another way some people try to deal with it is by keeping it bottled up inside.

Ephesians 4:31-32 teaches me a very important lesson about how to be angry.  Anger and wrath should be “put away” from us, along with bitterness and malice.  But instead of putting away my anger, I sometimes keep it inside: and I let it build up bitterness and grudges. I may not want to admit it; but often, when I do this, my heart will become full of malice and a desire to begrudge or hurt the offending party.

Instead of letting anger build up, I should get rid of it.  But if I bottle it up inside, thinking I am somehow taking a higher ground, I may be in violation of this part of the passage.  I may not lash out to hurt others, but neither do I work constructively to eliminate the cause of my anger. Instead, I let it build up.

James 1:19 – Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:”

Note James said to be slow to wrath and slow to speak, not “refuse” to speak.

I have often viewed this bottling up as the only solution to blowing up.  I don’t say or do anything harmful (at the time), but (if I am honest to admit it) instead hold bitterness in my heart, plotting harmful things to say and do!  Both responses are in violation of this passage.

In fact, a lot of times, keeping it all inside is what leads to losing control!  The pressure builds till I lash out with cruelty and malice.  If I can learn to deal with anger properly, I can avoid both of these extremes.

Tomorrow, Lord willing, I will look at controlling anger… Wow, I’m feeling convicted…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Randall permalink
    March 14, 2012 7:18 am

    Thanks for the thoughts, Leland.

  2. March 14, 2012 9:34 am

    You’re very welcome.

Trackbacks

  1. Art Game- W-10 Springtime And Waterball – allaboutlemon

Leave a Reply

