Skip to content

March 10 – Made in His Likeness

March 10, 2012

Continued from yesterday…

Post Grafting Care

Successful field grafting requires diligent care of the vines throughout the growing season. There are at least two areas of importance in post-grafting care:

1) Monitoring and relieving vine pressure
2) Supporting new growth

Monitoring and Relieving Vine Pressure

Soon after grafting, a monitoring schedule must be developed for the management of sap bleeding, especially at the graft site. The pressure of sap flow must be relieved to prevent the scion from being pushed out of contact with the trunk cambium. Make two small diagonal incisions about 1/4″ deep, just into the cambium, one each on either side of the trunk near the base. The trunk incisions enable most sap flow to escape before reaching the graft site. The first series of cuts are made during the trunk cutting stage (of which we’ve already discussed). Subsequent cuts, just above the original cuts, should be made every 5 to 7 days. Additionally, all vines should be inspected every few days, beginning 3 days after grafting, for bleeding at the graft site. This is especially important during periods of warmer weather, when sap flow tends to increase. Any time that bleeding is seen at the graft, or previous trunk cuts have stopped bleeding, new trunk cuts should be made.

Supporting New Growth

The graft union remains in a fragile state while the new shoots are growing and is susceptible to damage from wind shaking the shoots. New shoots should be tied to the trellis wires for support as soon as they reach a length of 12-18″.

Additional Considerations

Grafted vines have variable growth rates. Buds may start to grow in just 3-4 weeks, or some may take up to 4 months or more before they develop a strong shoot. One must be patient and continue to make bleeding cuts as needed, and train the shoots throughout the season.

Successful field grafting can result in vigorous shoot growth that enables the vine to produce a crop the next year.

The parallels are obvious, but we’ll discuss them for a few minutes anyway.

The fact that I have been grafted into the vine (the body of Christ) is a picture of the relationship I have with Christ and His body.  This analogy is beautiful!

  1. Cutting the trunk…. A sacrifice must be made.
  2. Basal Trunk incisions (Bleeding)… Sacrifice/Bleeding to ease the pressure on the graft.  Jesus takes all of my sins, relieves me of the pressures and weight of those sins, and allows me to cling to the vine (Christ).
  3. Faces cuts… provides a place for me.
  4. Incisions made in the face cuts… to allow me to grab hold of tightly, and to be able to gain the nutrients properly so I will not die, but grow into the vine and to be healthy.
  5. Scion Preparation… I must be willing to sacrifice, and be formed into the image of the vine, or match up perfectly (conform) to the pattern established in the vine.  Otherwise I’ll not survive.
  6. Taping the Scion to the trunk… When I’ve been made in the likeness of the vine’s sacrifice, I am placed into the vine by the Gardener (Husbandman-KJV).  The scion and the trunk must match up perfectly.  It will not live to produce fruit if it is not done properly.  I must be snugly fit where I can be in constant contact with the layers of the trunk (Jesus) in order to grow properly and ultimately live.
  7. Sealing the graft… I am covered by his blood.  In submission to the Gospel, I am made in the likeness of His sacrifice.  Then my salvation is sealed by the Gardener.  As long as I stay attached to the vine; as long as I am growing; as long as I produce fruit, then, I (the graft)  am fully protected from disease, from drying and withering, and from inclement weather.  He puts his covering (his blood) over me, and shields me from the fiery darts, etc., and I am sealed by the Holy Spirit.

I am so thankful for His love toward me.  I will not be jealous of others in the vine, instead I will be personally responsible for making sure I am completely surrendered to Him so I can become a full blooming branch in His kingdom.  Make much fruit grow in me and may others be blessed because of that fruit that comes from the Lord of lords and King of kings.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 10, 2012 3:38 pm

    A PERFECT ANALOGY!! Papa

Leave a Reply

