Skip to content

March 7 – What Will I Do With Jesus?

March 7, 2012

“Behold therefore the goodness and severity of God: on them which fell, severity; but toward thee, goodness, if thou continue in his goodness…”Rom 11:22

It is by God’s justice that judgment is carried out upon the human race.  It is by his wrath that punishment is carried out on the wicked and the rebellious.  Yet, it is all of His goodness He gives to me as I follow Him.

“since it is a righteous thing with God to repay with tribulation those who trouble you, 7. and to give you who are troubled rest with us when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven with His mighty angels, 8. in flaming fire taking vengeance on those who do not know God, and on those who do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9. These shall be punished with everlasting destruction from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of His power,…” – 2 Thess 1:6-9 (NKJV)

The final Judgment Day is coming where God’s infinite justice will be executed!  JUSTICE WILL BE SERVED!  It is also because of His justice, that I, who by faith in Jesus Christ obey Him, am rewarded.  How?  Because the sacrifice of Jesus upon the cross is counted as payment for my sins.

“But as it is written: “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”  – 1 Cor 2:9 (NKJV)

“And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment…” Heb 9:27

“And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent:  Because he hath appointed a day, in the which he will judge the world in righteousness by that man whom he hath ordained; whereof he hath given assurance unto all men, in that he hath raised him from the dead.” – Act 17:30-31

“Who shall give account to him that is ready to judge the quick and the dead.” – 1Pet 4:5

Jesus was the only one to ever fulfill the Law. He was perfect.  He was the only one who could rightly become my sacrifice because I am a Law breaker. I have disobeyed God (just as surely as the Jews did).  I am not good enough to stand in the presence of a righteous God.  What the sacrifices in bulls and goats could not do (because it would only temporarily forgive the sins), Jesus (being the perfect Son of God, sin-free, spotless Lamb of God), could forever forgive my sins when he offered up Himself as the final sacrifice (the last one God would ever accept); and it happened upon the cross of Calvary.  He cannot and will not accept my good works.  My goodness is completely unworthy.

Jesus took my sins and nailed them to the cross (Col. 2:14) and clothed me with His righteousness.  It is His righteousness that makes me acceptable to Him.  Through the power of His shed blood, I am saved – and it is only in effect when I, through my faith (trust), respond to His call, fully surrendering and submitting my life into His hands.  Being buried with Him, I then come into contact with the saving power of the blood of Christ.  It is His operation (work) upon my soul.

“Buried with him in baptism, wherein also ye are risen with him through the faith of the operation of God, who hath raised him from the dead.” – Col 2:12

So what will I do with Jesus?  Do I choose to suffer God’s Justice alone?,,, Or do I choose to have my penalty paid for through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ?

“For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:  17  Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.  18  Wherefore comfort one another with these words.”1Thess 4:16 

I am very comforted by His promise of a resurrection to come.

Lord, how can I not live for You faithfully, each and every day, after what You have done for me.   I choose to have faith in You, who has promised Your protection from an eternal Hell if I will but hide myself in You.  Thank you, in your justice, for counting Christ death as the sacrifice for my sins and for rescuing me from myself.  Lord, come quickly!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 10, 2012 1:42 pm

    Amen and Amen!!! Papa

Leave a Reply

