Skip to content

March 6 – Nothing To Offer, Everything To Gain

March 6, 2012

“The law was added so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more, so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace might reign through righteousness to bring eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Rom 5:20-21 (NIV)

I discussed a little yesterday about how God’s justice will be served; and that God can do no other thing due to his nature.  Sin must be punished.  God is a just God.  He will do what is right.

God’s justice is not only revealed in eternal punishment of those who refuse to accept Him, but it is also revealed at the cross of Calvary.  His grace and mercy is far greater than all of my sin.  Because Jesus is righteous and perfect, when I placed my faith in Him in obedience to the Gospel, I was given the righteousness of Jesus Christ.  When God looks at me, He no longer sees my sin- it has been covered.  Instead, He sees only the righteousness that is in Christ Jesus.  God’s justice is, therefore, shown when He saved me because of Jesus, who bore my sin and paid my penalty.  Yes, the penalty was paid, not by me, but by Him.

“All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.” – Isa 53:6

Because of God’s justice through Jesus Christ, the guilt of sin is removed from me and placed upon Him; my sins are washed away and hidden with Christ, and I, as a repentant sinner, am restored to fellowship with God.  In Theology, this is known as “Justification” (or being Justified), and is the judicial act of God where He declares subjects to be free from the penalty of their sins.  It takes place at the cross (when they, by faith, come to Him in obedience to the Gospel).

This is the beautiful part of the nature of God:  by His willingness to pay for man’s sins (through the crucifixion of Jesus) and by man’s response to God’s offer of forgiveness through faith and obedience, we are rescued from His judgment upon us, and we are set free.

The punishment required for rejecting God’s willingness to pay my debt is… that my sin must then run its deadly course where I will be given the punishment rightly mine to be had… eternal damnation.   Justice will be served- one way or the other.  I can choose to deny Christ and accept the punishment, myself; or I can allow Him (who made the first move to assure me of His love) to take the punishment for me.

Why must I fight God?  Why can I not just simply allow God to give me this gift?  Why must my heart be cold?  I have nothing to offer, and I have everything to gain.  I will let go, and let God!  Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

