Skip to content

March 2 – He Still Touches My Life And Heals Me

March 2, 2012

“And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean.  And Jesus put forth his hand, and touched him, saying, I will; be thou clean. And immediately his leprosy was cleansed.” – Matthew 8:2-3

So, I have been looking at various people in the Bible who have really stood out in my mind as great, yet humble, servants of the Lord.  I think I shall sum it up by looking at the life and ministry of Jesus, Himself.

Who would’ve thought that the son of a virgin, born in a manger would be used in such as way as to save us from our sins eternally?  He had no decent room for his mother to deliver the “Son of God” (we’re pretty particular about that nowadays).  Think of the stench.  Think of the filth that had to be around.  This was a place where perhaps sheep, and other livestock were fed.  What a lowly birth!  We don’t really like to think of the Lord Jesus Christ having been in this situation like this, but he was.  I would rather envision the scene to be like the nativity scenes I see at Christmas time.  I like to think of it with beauty and sweetness; the serenity of the night.  I can’t find a hint in the Bible that it was anything like that.  Again, He was born in Bethlehem; not much of a town.  What happened to the royalty?  Why not a palace?  He was perceived in the eyes of men to be only a carpenter’s son.  He was from an average middle class family.  No fancy lifestyle.  He was called a Nazarene because as a young child this was where he was raised.  Nathaniel once asked Philip, “Can any good thing come out of Nazareth?”  I don’t think that was asked in a positive tone.  He doubted, in fact, that anything good could come from a place like Nazareth.  “No place to lay his head,” He once said.  Crucified like a common criminal.

Who would’ve though that this was the King of kings and Lord of lords?  Who would’ve thought that He was the Redeemer of mankind, the One who bore my sins on the cross of Calvary.  Who would’ve thought that God, the Father, would have used such a one to be the Savior of the world.  Yet, God didn’t just use Him, He gave of Himself.  Man doesn’t look on things like God looks at them.

What about me?  Jesus touched the lives of people just like me!  His arms are not any shorter today than they were then.  He reached out and touched that filthy leper and healed him and forgave him.  He can reach out and touch my very being, the very essence of who I am, cleanse and forgive me.  He still touches my life today.  I need His touch.  I need the touch of Jesus in my life just like that leper and the many others He ministered to.  Thank you, Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

