Skip to content

February 29 – When I Fall, I Will Get Back Up

February 29, 2012

“Then began he to curse and to swear, saying, I know not the man. And immediately the cock crew. And Peter remembered the word of Jesus, which said unto him, Before the cock crow, thou shalt deny me thrice. And he went out, and wept bitterly.” – Mat 26:74-75

Peter was a fisherman by trade. Rough exterior. Big mouth. He was always putting the cart before the horse. When Jesus needed a friend the most, Peter denied he even knew him and hid. That’s our beloved Peter. I can relate to him! So many times I fail to do the things I really need to be doing. He was always saying and doing things that would no doubt embarrass those around him. I know this had to be true. If I had been standing there when Peter spoke to the Lord on a few of those occasions, I would have wanted to say, “Peter!! What are you doing?” or “There he goes again, will he ever just be quiet?” I realize I’m reading between the lines here, but that’s what I would have said. However, I also could have been the one who was opening my big mouth.

Despite Peter’s outbursts and jumping ahead of Jesus’ plan, he was loved and he was used on the Day of Pentecost as the primary spokesman where 3000 people came to obey and to know the truth of the Gospel of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ; and were baptized into His kingdom. Peter from that time on was a mighty man of God, a man once so full of pride, and then changed by the love of Christ into a very humble servant. If you don’t believe me, you go and read Peter’s writings in 1 & 2 Peter. He speaks very clearly to the issue of humility and God’s grace. If there was ever a man in the Bible that had to learn humility, it was Peter. I’m sure he could write about it and know what he was talking about. Jesus saw in Peter what man did not see in him, and God made him an able minister (if you will) of the New Testament.

May I walk humbly in Your sight, Lord. May I sacrifice my will for Yours. May I give up my life for Yours; and may I walk worthy as a disciple. And when I fall, I WILL reach for your tender hand of love, get back up, and get back on track following your path.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 12:34 am

    my favorite passage

    JOHN 21:15-17
    15 Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love (agapáō) me more than these?” Peter said to Jesus, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love (philéō) you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs!”
    16 Jesus said to Peter again a second time, “Simon son of John, do you love (agapáō) me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love (philéō) you.” He said to him, “Shepherd my sheep!”

    17 Jesus said to Peter a third time, “Simon son of John, do you love (philéō) me?” Peter was distressed because Jesus said to him a third time, “Do you love (philéō) me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything! You know that I love (philéō) you!” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep!

    agapao – God’s love
    phileo – non God’s love

    awesome thanks for this post.. it reminds me of God’s love for me…

    grace and peace

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 10, 2012 1:27 pm

    How many times each day do I deny my Lord by what I say and or do? Oh Lord forgive me and make me what you want me to be.Papa

Leave a Reply

