Skip to content

February 28 – I Must Not Be Quick To Judge

February 28, 2012

“And one of the Pharisees desired him that he would eat with him. And he went into the Pharisee’s house, and sat down to meat.  And, behold, a woman in the city, which was a sinner, when she knew that Jesus sat at meat in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster box of ointment, And stood at his feet behind him weeping, and began to wash his feet with tears, and did wipe them with the hairs of her head, and kissed his feet, and anointed them with the ointment.  Now when the Pharisee which had bidden him saw it, he spake within himself, saying, This man, if he were a prophet, would have known who and what manner of woman this is that toucheth him: for she is a sinner.”Luke 7:36-39

Who would’ve thought the sinner woman who served the Lord in a very simplistic way would be accepted by Jesus?  She washed the Lord’s feet with her tears using her hair, anointed them with perfume, and kissed his feet.  Who would’ve thought the Lord could have a place in His kingdom for such a woman as this?  Judged guilty by the men who were there; Jesus showed how this was an example of one who could be saved.  She was an example I could even learn from.  He told her that her faith had made her whole.  Her faith had saved her.  She served Him with gratefulness for what He had done for her. No one else had done this.

My religious tendencies would cause me to stand in shock today if I saw a brother talking to a woman like this.  I would raise the eyebrow, I might even murmur like the disciples here on this occasion.  I hope I would not, but I certainly would be tempted to.  I would have questions.  But Jesus forgave her.  He was in the home of a devout Pharisee, a church leader, one who projected a certain righteousness (mostly his own).  But it wasn’t Simon who served the Lord; oh no, he wasn’t going to stoop that low, “why that’s a servant’s job, not for me, a Pharisee.”  Jesus saw something nobody else saw.  He saw a hurting soul who needed forgiveness.  He could use this woman in His ministry.

I must not be so quick to judge; instead, I must seek to show compassion on my fellow-man.  Also, she should give me confidence, that while I am full of sin and unworthy of His great love toward me, He will, with mercy and grace, lift me up and set me on the path of righteousness.  What an awesome God I have!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 10, 2012 1:23 pm

    Can I not likewise accept this woman or any like her side by side with me at the Lord’s table in his KIngdom? Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Self Righteousness « bummyla
  2. Jesus Washes the Disciples Feet (He forgave their sin before they even committed it. He offered mercy before they even sought it) « bummyla
  3. A PROSTITUTE TEACHES ME HOW TO WORSHIP « Ioan17 – John 17

Leave a Reply

