Skip to content

February 25 – So Despised By Man, But Loved By Jesus

February 25, 2012

“Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.  The woman saith unto him, Sir, give me this water, that I thirst not, neither come hither to draw.” – John 4:13-15

In the depths of despair, as bad as I can mess up my life, Jesus still cares.  Jesus see value in me.  The Samaritan woman is a great example of what I mean.  Who would’ve thought that Jesus could use the Samaritan woman?  She was a Samaritan… despicable in the eyes of the church leaders of the day.  She was despised by the Jews, literally counted as nothing more than a dog in the eyes of the Jews.  She was an adulteress, she had been married five times, divorced five times, and now living with a sixth man who was not her husband.  I’ve thought about this in practical terms.  I’d probably have a tough time wanting to associate with a woman like this.  Even the disciples of Jesus marveled that Jesus was talking to her.  They discussed among themselves, “What in the world are you doing?  Do you not really know what manner of woman this is?”  Yet, they didn’t dare ask Jesus why.

It is interesting that the Holy Spirit reveals their thoughts.   I have been guilty of thinking similarly about others.  “Why is so-and-so talking to such-and-such?  He really shouldn’t be talking to that woman.  Does he not know??”

But Jesus saw what man often cannot.  God does not look on people like we do.  He looks to the heart.  Jesus saw a heart that was perhaps sensitive to desiring right, had a sincere heart wanting to know the truth; and that’s evident by the very questions she was asking; but she needed someone to tell her what it was.  The Pharisees were certainly not going to do it, nor any other Jew.  Jesus saw what these disciples did not see.  He would touch her life like she had never known before.  He could make a place for her in His kingdom!

I thank God He does not look at me with disdain because of my sin.  He hates sin, but He loves me; so much so, He paid my sin-debt and has touched my life like no one else can.  I praise Him!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 2, 2012 4:14 pm

    AMEN and AMEN Papa

Leave a Reply

