Skip to content

February 23 – Who Am I?

February 23, 2012

“Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.  And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt? And he said, Certainly I will be with thee…” – Exodus 3:10-12

Who would’ve though that Moses, a man born of a slave women, found and raised by Pharoah’s daughter in a palace, given the finest education available in that day, every amenity life could afford; tried to jump ahead of God, killed an Egyptian, ran and hid in the land of Midian, marries, has children, goes to work for his father-in-law for 40 years.  40 years later, at the age of 80, God calls him.  It wasn’t according to God’s timing when he killed the Egyptian, but now God calls him (at 80), an old man, had lost the art of public speaking that perhaps he had learned under the schoolmasters in Pharoah’s house.  He said he was slow of speech… Well, He was making excuses, however, there is no reason to believe he was making this up.  I believe he believed this about himself.  I imagine spending forty years in seclusion talking to sheep, he probably wasn’t as eloquent as he used to be or as he thought he should be.  He apparently lost a lot of that skill over time.  He challenged God on the grounds that he was not qualified to do the things God wanted him to do.  He told God that no one would listen to him, especially not Pharoah.  He was a nobody!

One thing I must remember: The way man see others is not how God see them. The rest of that story was, of course, the mighty things Moses did for the Children of Israel; and how that God was able to give him the ability to do the things God called him to do.  Note: God will not call me to do something I cannot do, or that He will not provide the way to accomplish it.   No, God delivers!  Moses led the children of Israel out of captivity; but it wasn’t by Moses’ ability, it was by the power of God!  God used Moses to do great and wonderful things.  He did it for Moses and He will do it for me.

You know,if I just look at Moses and his life through my eyes, I’d say he was pretty useless at this point in his life.  What in the world could this old man do for God?  No doubt, he was not getting around like he used to.  Yet God had a specific job for him to do and He has a purpose for me also!

Throughout the Bible, God always used people in His service who were either humble before Him, or who had been humbled first.  Either way, if I will humble myself before Him, there is no limit to what God can do, even with a wretched one such as me. Thank you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

