Skip to content

February 22 – I Will Accept Others As Christ Accepted Me

February 22, 2012

“We then that are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak, and not to please ourselves.  Let every one of us please his neighbour for his good to edification.  For even Christ pleased not himself; but, as it is written, The reproaches of them that reproached thee fell on me.  For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.  Now the God of patience and consolation grant you to be likeminded one toward another according to Christ Jesus:  That ye may with one mind and one mouth glorify God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.  Wherefore receive ye one another, as Christ also received us to the glory of God.” Rom 15:1-8 

What does the cross mean to me?  What did it accomplish for me?  When I see the love of Jesus, who loved me so much, He would take all of my sins, every last single one of them, and forever kill them on the cross, promising me eternal salvation, how can I dare look on my neighbor with envy, strife, and hatred?  I can’t!

The cross reminds me that I am a sinner.  However, the cross reminds me that I am redeemed!  My very motivation for living is found at the cross.  It is because of the cross, I give of myself.  It is because of the cross, I love my wife.  It is because of the cross, I lead my children.  It is because of the cross, I stay away from the very appearance of evil.  It is because of the cross, I have compassion on others.  It is because of the cross I have many brothers and sisters in the family of God.  It is because of the cross, I can be patient.   Shall I go on?  It is because of the cross, I can have joy.  It is because of the cross, I can have gentleness.  It is because of the cross, I can do good.  It is because of the cross, I can live by faith.  It is because of the cross, I exercise self-control.  It is because of the cross, I pray and meditate.  It is because of the cross, I have peace.

I love the body of Christ, where I can receive my brothers and sisters with open arms, just like Jesus did for me.  All glory to God!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 2, 2012 4:29 pm

    Leland, this is an execllent exposition of this passage. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and today, and forever « bummyla

Leave a Reply

