Skip to content

February 21 – I Will Forgive First

February 21, 2012

“And, having made peace through the blood of his cross, by him to reconcile all things unto himself; by him, I say, whether they be things in earth, or things in heaven.  And you, that were sometime alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now hath he reconciled In the body of his flesh through death, to present you holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight:  If ye continue in the faith grounded and settled, and be not moved away from the hope of the gospel, which ye have heard, and which was preached to every creature which is under heaven; whereof I Paul am made a minister…” – Col 1:20-23

The peace that Christ made through the blood of His cross (Col. 1:20) reconciles me to Himself, and me to others.  It is by looking at the cross, and knowing what that sacrifice means to me personally, that my sins are washed away, and the enmity (hatred for God and people) is done away.

How, then, can I hate my fellow-man when I fully recognize Christ’s love for me?  How can I envy my fellow-man when I’m seeing His unselfish gift on the cross of Calvary?  How can I be so arrogant, when I see the humility of the nail-pierced hands and feet of the Savior, who bore my sins, and took all of my sin into death and the grave?  With every stripe I gave Him, I’m caused to accept the fact that He did indeed take all of my sins to the cross.

I will look, first, at those who treat me less than favorable through the prism of the Cross.  I will see and remember what Jesus did for me.  I will remember where I was and how that I was in complete rebellion to Him when He saved me.  And… I will look at others with grace and compassion, and be willing to forgive them before they even think to say, “I’m sorry.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky Estes permalink
    February 21, 2012 5:55 pm

    Leland, your messages of 2-8-12 and today are so timely. I’m struggling with the challenge of communicating with nephews and a niece who are atheists. I have children their age and cannot fathom remaining a loving aunt without taking the opportunity for them to see His power accomplish things through my life I could never begin to do on my own. I have learned in 57 years of life to acquire a thick skin to harsh, critical, spiteful words and do not mind to apologize if I’ve offended them. I’ve had advice to know when I’m defeated, that atheism is an evil power rarely defeated. Please! advise!
    Becky Estes in Plainview, TX

    • February 21, 2012 10:46 pm

      Well, one thing is for sure, we cannot make anybody believe, or do anything they do not want to believe or to do. What we can do is take the opportunity, plant a seed, and continue to be a light to them. Our burden of responsibilty lies in shining the light, planting the seed, spreading the word. Whether the seed takes, or the light is seen will be up to an open heart ready to hear the Spirit of Truth which speaks to them. God bless you in your work. -Leland

Leave a Reply

