Skip to content

February 20 – Am I Working The Works Of God?

February 20, 2012

“Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed. Then said they unto him, What shall we do, that we might work the works of God?  Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.” – John 6:27-29 

This passage comes just after the feeding of the five thousand.  They were wanting to follow Jesus closely because of the food He was providing.  He then told them to seek after the meat that will give them eternal life.  They were missing the point… They saw the miraculous feeding of the five thousand, but they were seeking only the provision of the flesh.  They essentially were saying, “If we make him our king, we will always be fed.”   But Jesus’ point was not to feed everyone physically, although He did.   The point was that the multitudes would see the miracles and believe on Him.

Many times, I still miss the point in the messages of Jesus.  Many times I have been guilty of seeking Jesus for purposes not offered by Him.  This is something I need to be careful not to do.   Many, many, many people, not only in the world, but also among religious groups do this.  In the name of Jesus, I have sought to rationalize and justify what it was I was doing.  I essentially was seeking vindication of false doctrine.  My actions were showing my desire to have my own ideas validated.  I have also been guilty of seeking Jesus to provide me with selfish desires.  When I am seeking Him for my purposes, I am missing the point of what Jesus came to do.

I pray for more strength to trust Him more.  Increase my faith, Lord.  I pray for a clean heart, that I may move with reverence and thankfulness toward Jesus.  I ask for more grace that I might have more patience, tenderness and compassion on my fellow-man.  Thank you Lord, for all You have done for humanity.  May I be a vessel used to Your glory as I reach out to others with Your love and mercy.  Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 2, 2012 4:41 pm

    And AMEN!! Papa

Leave a Reply

