Skip to content

February 19 – I Will Humble Myself Before Him

February 19, 2012

“With all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love; Endeavouring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” – Ephesians 4:2-3

It is a difficult thing to keep pride and selfish ambition in check.  To have this “lowliness and meekness” constant in my life is a challenge to say the least.  Yet, it is something I must remind myself of in order to fully appreciate my relationship with the Lord.

Jesus made himself lower than the angels in order to reach me.  He understood lowliness.  Lowliness is the state of mind that says others are more important than myself.  He understood meekness.  Meekness is the absence of pride, therefore, very gentle toward others.  He understood forbearing others in love.  But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8 Jesus is the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.  Because of Him, reconciliation was made that brought about peace between me and God.

When my desire for self-assertion and self-pleasing gives way to the desire of simply pleasing God and others, much of the fret and strain is drained away from daily living.  The mark of the truly blessed Christian is the absence of “drive” for self-determination.   Instead, I must allow others the privilege of “being right.”  I should even back up and suffer humiliation even if I believe I am in the right or did nothing wrong.  It is the ability to allow somebody else take the credit for something I did.   And I must allow the Lord to take control and lead me in the paths of righteousness.  When I am prepared to put my personal affairs in the Master’s hands for His management and direction, I find the place of rest for my soul.

This life has enough issues to deal with without me being the issue!  I will humble myself before the Master who humbled Himself for me.  I will love others because He first loved me.  I will serve Him and others because He first served me.  All praise and glory to the Lord, Jesus Christ, my Savior, Redeemer and friend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 2, 2012 4:45 pm

    Thank you, I needed this. Papa

Leave a Reply

