Skip to content

February 18 – I’m Seeking First the Kingdom of God

February 18, 2012

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”Matt 6:33-34 

My life often presents itself with many questions and decisions regarding the future.  Questions like, “How much money am I going to make on this sale of property?  Will it be enough to do the things I have planned?  What about the stresses on the job?  Can I meet all of the objectives and will my clients be pleased?  There is the potential to “stress out” over these unknown variables.  May I suggest to my own heart where my biggest concerns need to be?  These things are trivial when compared to the really important things in life, like —broken relationships, people hurting and in despair, broken homes; sin has captured our friends and neighbors.

While my own projects, etc., are necessary to address, I cannot forget my true mission—that is, to seek and to save the lost.  This was the mission of Jesus and it was the commission to His disciples.  While I worry over these lesser things, people still need the Lord!

There is a lot of comfort in knowing I have a God who is powerful; a God who will be with me in my mission to serve Him.  My first priority is to seek the kingdom of God.  To seek after His righteousness is to identify with Jesus.  Everything about Him is righteous and without him, I can never know this state of living.  Because I am risen with Christ, I will seek those things which are above.  I can do this when I am negotiating a sale; I can do this when I am at the grocery store visiting with people; I can do this in every aspect of my life.  And when I do, I can make a difference, through Christ, in the lives of people.

And to top it off, when I seek Him first, He has promised the things of tomorrow will take care of themselves.  What a great God I serve!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 1:05 am

    “But seek ye first the kingdom of God and
    ….HIS RIGHTEOUSNESS”

    We are to seek HIS righteousness. not ours. not by doing good works.. not by fasting. not by tithing. not by reading 7 chapters…

    rather by believing in Jesus’s righteousness. resting and believing we are righteous by faith.

    we are to use our faith not for healing. not for miracles. not for anything else except to believe “You are righteous – by faith”

    if righteous, then all these things shall be added.

    grace and peace

Trackbacks

  1. In the kingdom of God, we won’t be given any great opportunities until we are proven faithful in the small things « bummyla

Leave a Reply

