Skip to content

February 17 – I Am Called To Lead My Children

February 17, 2012

“And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.” – Eph 6:4 

By virtue of the fact that God has blessed me with children, I have been called to lead the most precious, yet vulnerable creations on earth.   I am called to this tremendous duty and am expected by God to fulfill this role diligently.   Yet, so many times I get caught up in the affairs of life—my job, my associations, my trying to make a place in this world; and, all too often, it is at the risk of my children suffering the consequences.  They easily become the ones who get the time I have left over.  Because of this, they could often be left to deal with troubles, conflicts, and other issues they face with little or no guidance.  Yet, the day is coming they will grow older.  They will face the trials and temptations of life also.  Just as real as these troubles are in my life, they will be the same for them.  Am I preparing them from a young age to be strong enough to face them?  I don’t want to see them years into the future getting into serious trouble, and me crying, “Where did I go wrong?”

I’ve heard this very cry from others, and it is usually too late to undo the training (or lack thereof).  Once they become adults, they must answer to God for their own actions.  But, while they are in my care, I must answer for them.  This is evaluation time— Am I serious about protecting my children from the wiles of Satan?  Am I serious about leading them in the way they ought to go and to bring them up in the nurture and discipline of the Lord?  If so, I will be diligent in studying with them the Word of God; I will be diligent in spending time with them so I can teach them along the way—not just when trouble comes.  More than just Bible study, they need to witness how I speak to my neighbors, how I react when somebody wrongs me, and how I revere the Lord in times of study and prayer.

There is a lot of things calling out to my children today:  all manner of lures that could draw them away from God.  I must make sure the Word of God is calling them.  I must be diligent in this effort.  I must remember to never give up.  I’ve got one chance at doing it right.  I have one opportunity to lead them in the way they should go; I do not get a second chance.  With the grace God provides me, I will be able to accomplish the things He has called me to do.  I pray that God will be honored as they seek Him as the Lord of their lives.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 29, 2012 7:06 am

    All parents need to see this and heed it!! Papa

Leave a Reply

