Skip to content

February 16 – It’s The Opportunity Of A Lifetime

February 16, 2012

“The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish , but that all should come to repentance.” – 2 Peter 3:9

I’ve heard it pitched, “It’s the opportunity of a lifetime.”  I have often used the cliché “this is the window of opportunity.”  Another saying I thought made a good point, “It’s the opportunity of a lifetime only during the lifetime of the opportunity.”  Opportunities do have windows: they are either open or they are shut.  To take advantage of any given opportunity, I must go through the window when it is open, otherwise, I will not be allowed in.

As a Christian, life is much like that.  The person broken down on the highway; the friend who is sick; the child who has just been diagnosed with Leukemia; the one who is struggling to make ends meet financially; the soul who cries out in the night for God to rescue him from his drug or alcohol addiction; the wanderer who is lost in sin, seeking the way out.  All of these scenarios become issues applicable only to the specific day or days of the person’s situation.  These moments will pass and new issues will arise… it’s called life!  Some will give up on life.  Some will never seek the truth again.  Some will content themselves to “bail out.”  However, these are not just mere moments in the lives of individuals where trouble has crept in, they are opportunities for me to take advantage of.

I must remember I am to be a living testimony of what Christ did for me.  I must remember I may be the only hope a person has and that they are depending on me to help.  If my heart is not fully attuned to and prepared for the prompting of the Holy Spirit, I may miss the opportunity.

I will take an extra moment to pause, look around, and see the opportunities before me!  I will be more attentive to the things of God and less to the things of self.  And I must remember, It IS NOT God’s will that any should perish, nor should it be mine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

