Skip to content

February 15 – Do My Actions Affect Others?

February 15, 2012

“Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumbling-block or an occasion to fall in his brother’s way.”  Romans 14:13

How do I make the right moral decisions in life?   I’ve previously mentioned I am challenging myself to ask a series of questions in order to better my walk with Christ.

Number one, “Does the Bible specifically forbid it?” If it does, then the obvious response is to say, “NO!” and walk away. Number two, “Do my authorities forbid it?”  If so, I must refrain, for the Bible is very clear on submitting to those in authority.  Number three, “What if everyone knew I was doing it?”  If it is something I would be embarrassed to admit to everybody in my life, then I will refuse to participate in it.  Number four, “Can I sincerely thank God for this opportunity, and ask Him to bless me in doing it?”  If not, again, I must stop what I am doing and reassess my decision.  Number five, “How will this affect my Christianity?”  Will the act I am about to do perform make my walk as a Christian better or worse?  If not better, then this too should stop me in my tracks.

I want to present one last question before moving forward with a moral decision to make.  Question number 6 speaks to the influence I have on other people.  “How will this affect others’ relationship with Christ?”  Will the act I am about to perform cause another to fall?  Could it lead somebody into a problem that I might not struggle with?  Is it possible for me to have liberty to do something that could cause another to stumble?  Consider the “eating of meats” principle in Romans.  If I answer “yes” to these questions, then I must walk away from it.  It will do nothing but hurt another brother who, himself is struggling with doing the right thing.  If the act will negatively affect my Brother’s relationship with the Lord, I will willingly refrain.  To sacrifice for my brother is an honor.  Jesus said there was no greater love than that of a man who lays his life down for a his friend.  I will lay my life down and consider the needs of my Brother.  After all, isn’t that what Jesus did for me?  Absolutely!

I am so thankful Jesus calls me His friend.  I’m thankful for the Brother in Christ who shared these series of questions with me.  I hope as I use these questions to challenge myself, others might also gain a benefit as well.  This life is a wonderful journey, but without a premeditated approach to dealing with all of its struggles, I could easily find myself lost and hopeless.  Thank you Father for loving me so!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 7:52 am

    I have been enjoying your blog, and your questions do seem like a good starting place, but all sin begins in the heart, as Jesus showed with his statements about anger and lust being murder and adultery in the heart. It seems if we just address outward acts, we miss this. Aren’t we supposed to clean the inside of the cup? Doesn’t that lead to changes in action?

    • February 15, 2012 9:05 am

      Thank you Stefani,

      Absolutely! Each day’s blog is to only speak of a single concept. There is no way to qualify every teaching with every possible supporting aspect of an issue. Past blogs address this issue as will future ones. Identifying the issues of the heart are paramount, of course.

      I appreciate you raising this concern, I couldn’t agree more. It should be assumed if I only ask these questions in a quest to avoid sin in my life, without a clean heart, it will be utterly useless. Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

