Skip to content

February 14 – Will This Action Affect My Christianity?

February 14, 2012

“Wherefore the rather, brethren, give diligence to make your calling and election sure: for if ye do these things, ye shall never fall…” – 2 Peter 1:10

I know I am redundant in continually mentioning what I have previously discussed, but it helps to reinforce these principles in my mind, so here goes again…

I have been discussing several questions I am committing to ask if and when I am tempted.  Number one, “Does the Bible specifically forbid it?” If it does, then the obvious response is to say, “NO!” and walk away. Number two, “Do my authorities forbid it?”  If so, I must refrain, for the Bible is very clear on submitting to those in authority.  Number three, “What if everyone knew I was doing it?”  If it is something I would be embarrassed to admit to everybody in my life, then I will refuse to participate in it.  Number four, “Can I sincerely thank God for this opportunity, and ask Him to bless me in doing it?”  If not, again, I must stop what I am doing and reassess my decision.  Now for number five:

The fifth question I must ask myself is “How will this affect my Christianity?”  Will the act I am about to do perform make my walk as a Christian better or worse?  Is it something that will help ensure I am faithful to God?  If I cannot answer “yes” to these questions, then I must walk away from it.  I MUST! It will do nothing but bring me down and destroy my relationship with Christ.  Without a strong relationship with Christ, I will succumb to the power of the flesh.  But I must remember, the power He has given me is greater (much greater) than the power of sin in my life.  I sometimes act as though God cannot do what He has promised; that’s evident when I do not lean upon Him, rather, I lean on my understanding and pride.  It is God’s will for me to do the things I do out of a pure heart and with a love for Him and others that is beyond the common love of humanity.  I can depend upon Him to the degree, that sin will no longer be able to penetrate my heart.  But this requires a faith that is unwavering and does not doubt God nor His promises.

I am so thankful He is a God I can count on!  I am so thankful He is the true God who I can commit to.  I am so thankful He has provided the Holy Spirit to guide me, and to give me the power to overcome the flesh.  I depend solely upon Him, for I cannot do it alone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. laurie Huntley permalink
    February 14, 2012 2:44 am

    I appreciate the recollections and reminders Leland. So to repeat previous thoughts is welcome when supporting the next bit of your writing. Well, It is for me anyways! … You know I wonder to myself, and give a “self test” concerning the library. What does she mean, you say…. If God were to come to my house and ask to sit down to watch a movie, would he be able to find something in my video library that would honor him, and not grieve him? OK, bring it down a notch,.. If a traveling evangelist were to come to my house and ask to sit down to watch a movie, would he be able to find something in my video library that would honor him, and not grieve his spirit? OK, bring it down another notch…… if I invited the teens of local congregations to come stay during a meeting, and they were to come to my house and ask to sit down to watch a movie, would they be able to find something in my video library that would honor them, and not grieve their spirit or thought of me? Last time, bring it down one more time……. what if I had little kids from church come to my house and ask to sit down to watch a movie, would he be able to find something in my video library that would only honor them? Would there be questions about movies, that I don’t want to give answers to? Would simply the movie jacket pictures tell a tale that would simply suggest to little children that it might not be something completely honoring?

    Then I ask myself, why do I have to go through those jirations, if I am following God’s will, I should never have to be concerned about those situations. But am I? Each one of us can only answer that for ourselves. I fear to say that I may not be a happy about the results of that particular soul search……………

    • February 14, 2012 7:01 am

      Well stated Laurie. I have asked the same question. It is a great way to analyze the decisions you are making. However, I ask a similar thing, While I might subscribe to this idea, I still find myself caught with a double standard. Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

