Skip to content

February 13 – Can I Thank God For The Opportunity?

February 13, 2012

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:17-18

Continuing the thought from the previous three days, and in the pursuit of conquering sin in this life, I must have an accountability program.  I have chosen to be accountable to God and myself by asking a few questions when I am tempted to give in to sin.

Just to keep it in the forefront of my mind, the first question is, “Does the Bible specifically forbid it?” If it does, then the obvious response is to say, “NO!” and walk away.  The second question is, “Do my authorities forbid it?”  IF so, I must refrain, for the Bible is very clear on submitting to those in authority.  The third question: “What if everyone knew I was doing it?”  If I cannot do “it” in front of others, let alone those who know me, like family and friends, then it most certainly should not be done.  What about question #4?

“Can I sincerely thank God for this opportunity, and ask Him to bless me in doing it?”  Now this is a sobering thought.

Note to self:  It is God’s will for me to do the things I do with thanksgiving.  Can I truly thank Him for everything I did yesterday?  Okay, honestly, no, I cannot.  There are things I said (even under my breath), things I did or didn’t do, and probably things I thought about that I could not thank God for.  Probably, I don’t even remember everything.  But this scripture tells me I ought to be able to thank God in all occasions.   To be able to do this, I will have to follow spiritual things, period.

I must again, remind myself to commit to God:  I will refuse to think, say, or do anything that is ungodly because of who I am in Christ.  I will live my life after the Spirit and in godliness because of who Jesus is and what He did for me.  More questions to come…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

