Skip to content

February 12 – I Am The Salt OF The Earth

February 12, 2012

“Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? It is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of man.” – Matthew 5:13  

Continuing the thought from the previous two days, and in the pursuit of conquering sin in this life, I must have an accountability program.  I have chosen to be accountable to God and myself by asking a few questions when I am tempted to give in to sin.

To review, the first question is, “Does the Bible specifically forbid it?”  If it does, then the obvious response is to say, “NO!” and walk away.  The second question is, “Do my authorities forbid it?”  IF so, I must refrain, for the Bible is very clear on submitting to those in authority.  The first question alone would take care of a good percentage of possible scenarios where I might give in to sin.  The second one takes care of even more.  But the third question will put to rest most other temptations.

Here is the third question: “What if everyone knew I was doing it?”  John 3:20-21 says, “For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.  But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.”  The principle taught here is obvious (pun not intended).  This is a great question to ask.  If I cannot do “it” in front of others, let alone those who know me, like family and friends, then it most certainly should not be done.  Everything I say and do should be such that when others see the deeds performed, they will glorify God.  If they can’t do that, then I must stop and reconsider the act or actions I am about to commit.

What great principles to live by.  But there are more.  I will investigate yet another question that will also help me if I will but ask it.  Until tomorrow, God bless!

Leave a Reply

