Skip to content

February 11 – I Must Submit To Authorities

February 11, 2012

“Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you.” – Heb 13:17 

I am challenged every day to make right moral decisions in this life.  Yesterday, we referenced Hebrews 5:14 where it stated that as I mature in Christ, I will learn to distinguish between good and evil.  It is imperative that I resist the devil, that I control “the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life” (1 John 2:16).  Practically speaking, how do I accomplish this?

The first question has been addressed.  I mentioned yesterday the first thing I must do is to ask myself this question, “Does the Bible specifically forbid it?”  If it does, then the obvious response is to say, “NO!” and walk away.  2 Tim 1:13 says “Hold fast the form of sound words, which thou hast heard of me, in faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.”

The second question is this: Before I think, say, or do, I will ask, “Do my authorities forbid it?”  God has placed many authorities in my life.  From parents, to governmental, to employers, to the leaders in the Church.  When I ask this questions, I must consider in light of every authority.  Will it go against what my parents instruct?  Will it violate the laws of the land?  Will it break rules of my employer?  Will it violate scripture or go against what an elder might teach me from the Bible?  Of course, scripture is the final authority for all of these, but am I weighing into my decision these questions?  Below are some quick references teaching us about obeying those in authority.  I think sometimes I have rationalized and justified what I wanted to do based on my opinion rather than carefully considering the authorities in my life.

A)  Parents– Eph. 6:1-3

B)  Government– 1 Peter 2:13-14

C)  Employer– 1 Peter 2:18

D)  Elders– Hebrews 13:17

If I truly desire to be everything God wants me to be, then I must consider these questions.  If the Bible forbids it, then don’t do it.  If my authorities forbid it, then don’t do it.  These  guidelines will challenge me to pray, study and meditate on the Word, seeking answers before I casually say yes to sin.    Still, there are other questions for I need to also consider which I will be discussed over the next few days.

Thank you Lord for all of the authorities You have placed in my life.  I know they are there to assist me in my walk and to hold me accountable in this area of my life.  As You have placed them there in these positions, I will submit my will to Yours.  Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

