Skip to content

February 10 – Does The Bible Specifically Forbid It?

February 10, 2012

“But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.” – Heb 5:14 

Living in this society, it is often difficult to always do the right thing, to think the right thing, and to see things the way God would want me to see things.  I have an incredible journey in this life to resist the devil… to control “the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life” (1 John 2:16).  How do I make the right moral decisions in life?  How can I know I am obeying God in all aspects of my life?

Hebrews 5:14 (above) tells me that as I mature in Christ, as I exercise (practice) my skills in self-control, I will learn to distinguish between good and evil.  Practically speaking, how can I accomplish this?  Before I think about, say, or act upon a temptation, I will ask myself a few questions, the first of which is presented below.

1. Does the Bible specifically forbid it?  If it does, then the obvious response is to resist it, turn around and move far away from it, and cleave to what God has promised me through His Word, my only authority for living as a Christian today.  2 Tim 1:13 says “Hold fast the form of sound words, which thou hast heard of me, in faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.”

I vow to ask this question before I succumb to sin.  My submission is to God, not the devil.  “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.” (James 4:7-8)

I will present more questions in the upcoming days that will benefit me in this battle to walk the walk and to fight the good fight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

