Skip to content

February 9 – Peace, Unity and Love Matters

February 9, 2012

“By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” – John 13:35

In John 17:20, Jesus prays earnestly for us that his disciples might be one.  This includes me.  He says, “Then the world will believe that you sent me.”  Of all the lessons we can draw from this verse, don’t miss this one: Fussing, fighting, contentions and other actions that destroy peace is unacceptable to our Lord.  Peace, unity and love matters to God.  The light that shines by our love for each other is the very thing that will bring glory to God in the eyes of the unbeliever; and it is what will most influence others to follow Christ.

This unity, peace and love is the very key to a fulfilling Christian walk, and even my evangelism.  Paul said in Eph. 4:3, “Endeavouring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.”  I can place all of my attention on evangelism; I can put all my money toward it; I can even travel to the four corners of this world to spread the Gospel; But if I am not of a mind to make peace with my Brethren, those efforts will most likely fail, not providing a peaceful place of refuge for those converted.

How then do I make peace and keep the unity?  Does this mean I compromise my convictions?  No.  Does it mean I abandon the truths I cherish?  Of course not.  It does mean, however, I look long and hard at my attitude.  Unity doesn’t begin in examining others but in examining myself.  Paul said in Rom. 15:7 says, Therefore welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God. (ESV)  When I honestly evaluate myself in light of exactly what Christ saved me from; when I consider how that Jesus has welcomed me into the family of God, even though I am a sinner… I am moved with a tender heart full of love (a love that only God can produce) for my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, as well as my fellow man.  This is truly what Christ did for me, that while I was still sinning against Him, He gave Himself for me.  By this act, the Father was glorified.  By me having that kind of love for others, God is glorified.

God forbid I should be the cause of somebody mocking God in disbelief.  Never should a neighbor, friend, or even a stranger look at my life as a reason to mock Jesus, to doubt God’s love for them or to justify their own standing.  My life ought to be such that when they see the genuine love I have for the family of God, they are drawn to praise and glorify Him!  All praise, honor and glory to my Lord Jesus Christ.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

