Skip to content

February 8 – I See His Glory In My Life

February 8, 2012

“Who among the gods is like you, O Lord? Who is like you—majestic in holiness, awesome in glory, working wonders?” – Exodus 15:11

I am nervous about seeing even a glimpse of God’s glory, however, at the same time, I have a desire to see it.  Moses asked to see it on Mount Sinai.  It shown through the Temple, leaving Priests too stunned to minister.  When Ezekiel saw it, he had to bow.  David celebrated it.  John beheld it.  Peter witnessed it on the Hill of Transfiguration.  Obviously, reading of the accounts where this occurred makes me to be somewhat fearful of His presence.  But should I not seek His presence in my life as I worship Him?  What do I see when I come before Him to worship?

Coming before Him in worship should cause me to stand at attention or bow in a humble submission.  Whether standing or bowing, I will praise Him.  I cannot just sit there inactive as if it is no big deal that God is present in my life.  It should cause me to honor Him with my whole being, inside and out… mind, heart, conscience, emotions, and my will.

The word “glory” signals a demand for the highest honor.   The Hebrew term comes from the root word meaning heavy, weighty, or important.  God’s glory, then, celebrates His significance and His uniqueness.  When I think of “God’s glory,” I think of “preeminence;” and when I think “preeminence,” I think “priority.”  He told Moses “By those who come near Me I must be regarded as holy; and before all the people I must be glorified.”  (Lev. 10:3)

The earth and the heavens reveal God’s glory.  Every act of Heaven reveals God’s glory.  Every act of Jesus did the same. (Heb. 1:3)  The question is, “Am I reflecting God’s glory?”  Do my acts measure up?  When I do “good works,” does God receive the glory, or do I?  When others see my “good works,” do they glorify God, or do they praise me?  My Christian walk is not about gaining credit or recognition, it is about giving credit and recognition to God.  It matters what I do, say, and what I think about.  Every decision, every act, every opportunity I have to serve… is an opportunity to see God working in my life.  It is an opportunity to see His power accomplish things through my life I could never begin to do on my own.

So can I see His glory?  Well, maybe not like I will in eternity.  However, if I will walk humbly before Him, and make myself available for His use, I can then see His glory in ways that will cause me to praise Him more and more each day.  Lord, I am yours.

Leave a Reply

