Skip to content

February 7 – Am I Drifting Along?

February 7, 2012

“Therefore we ought to give the more earnest heed to the things which we have heard, lest at any time we should let them slip.” – Heb 2:1

To think I could hear the Truth, accept it, then not give it the focus and attention I should in my life… it is a troubling thought.  How could I let these things slip from memory; or how could I ignore them and not respond to Scriptures in obedience?

I have had periods of time in my life when I didn’t seem to have that “fire in my belly.”  I failed to maintain the relationship with God I should have.  One thing is for sure, God never moved.  I was the one that drifted from His presence.  It is much like drifting slowly down a river.  I could get caught up enjoying the sights around, or even fishing, and still be drifting without knowing it.  The thing about drifting is it is very dangerous.  By the time I realize I am drifting it could be too late.  I could be heading straight for a waterfall drop off and never know it.

Sadly, it is not uncommon for Christians to drift toward total disaster in life.  Often time, they do not realize what is happening.  I’ve been in this boat.  How do I know if I am drifting?  Can I know?  Can I recognize it when it occurs?  Drifting requires no effort.  This is why it is so easy to get caught in this mode.  All I have to do is stop rowing.  If I stop rowing, I will drift.  This is why I believe the writer of Hebrews says, “We must give the more earnest heed…”

Another thing about drifting away is that it is not a conscious effort.   I can totally drift away without even realizing it.  In a boat, the undercurrents are usually not noticed, yet the vessel will continue to drift along if I am not acutely aware of what is happening.  This can happen to me and it can happen to whole congregations who do not take seriously God’s view on Biblical precepts.  When this occurs, you find even well-meaning Christians (and churches) drifting away from the teachings of Jesus and His Apostles.

I must make sure I am steady in my pursuit of spiritual growth, rowing through the pages of God’s Word, that I might withstand the modern-day currents of compromise, relativism and rationalism.  There are so many things in life working against me.  It is incredibly easy to get caught up in the middle of things that will do nothing for me except lead me farther and farther away from God.  Therefore, I study more fervently the Word of God.  I will allow my Lord to instruct me in those things that may not be culturally acceptable, against the stream if necessary.

Thank you God for loving me enough to make Yourself available to me for my salvation.  Thank You for providing the instruction and Holy Spirit to overcome this world and keep me from drifting.  Thank You for protecting me from the destruction that awaits downstream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

