Skip to content

February 5 – This Is My Life

February 5, 2012

“…Set your hearts unto all the words which I testify among you this day, which ye shall command your children to observe to do, all the words of this law.  For it is not a vain thing for you; because it is your life…” – Deut. 32:46-47

The commands of old were for the children of Israel’s benefit.  While it was the letter of the law, what it did for the Jews was to clearly define what God expected of them, as well as told them how even future generations will benefit.  They were to diligently teach these laws to their children, to not only recognize the laws, but to do (obey) them.

How do I fight the good fight today?  While I may be free from the burden of the Law by Christ’s atonement for me, I must believe He came not to destroy it, but to fulfill it. (Matthew 5:17)  The scriptures of the Old Testament are also given to us to teach us about Christ.  Obedience to all of God’s words meant life to the Jews.  Obedience to Him today means life to me.  Instead of looking for salvation in the details of my works of the Law, I can look to Christ.  He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.   I must keep the faith in a good conscience.

Eph 2:8 is very clear that grace is a gift from God applied through my faith.  My faith is developed by hearing the Word of God (the teachings by Jesus, or those taught by the authority of Jesus).  Rom 10:17 says “faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”  I cannot separate faith from the word of God.  Faith is not alone, it carries with it evidence, or assurance (Hebrews 11:6).  Heb. 4:12 says the “…word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”

When Paul instructs Timothy to fight the good fight by “keeping faith,” Paul is referring to doctrinal purity that comes only from the Word of God.  He reminds Timothy that he must stay in the Word of God if his faith is going to remain clear, clean and pure.  I must do the same.

The Enemy loves to down-play the importance of the Bible in my life.  But I know this—If I am not in the Word, it is impossible for me to fight the good fight!  Jesus did this very thing when He was tempted by Satan.  He is, of course, my example.  When He was tempted by the devil, His answers were always consistent with the word of God.  He said, “man cannot live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.”   It is by being in the Word, that I receive everything I need to resist the temptations of this world.  Only then will I be able to appreciate life to its fullest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

