Skip to content

February 3 – Expressing My Love For Others

February 3, 2012

“Hereby perceive we have the love of God, because He laid down His life for us.” – 1 John 3:16

Instead of loving myself most, I am willing to love Christ best and others more than myself.  I am willing to lay down my life, lay myself out, go out of my way, and put myself out on behalf of another.  I will do this for others even if they are not friends or acquaintances of mine.  It is easy to sacrifice for those who love you.  But to walk in Jesus’ steps is to be willing to sacrifice yourself for those who do not love you – those who are your enemies.

The moment I deliberately do something definite either for God or others that costs me something, I am expressing love.  It is no sacrifice if there is no cost.  Love is “self-less-ness” or “self-sacrifice” in contrast to “selfishness.”

I choose to be led by God in this right way.  Once I discover the delight of doing something for another, I will have started my journey into one of God’s green pastures.  I will be allowing my Lord to lead me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

