Skip to content

February 2 – Why Me, Lord?

February 2, 2012

“…for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.” – Matthew 5:45 

I’ve often asked, “Why is this happening to me?  What did I do to deserve this?”  I can identify with loss of hope.  I’ve had those seemingly hopeless times in my life.  I’ve had those close to me suffer from cancer.  I experienced the death of a loved one.  Hopes and dreams have been shattered in despair over relationships, isolation, my loss of a business, and many other things.  These are the things of life everybody experiences from time to time, but that does not make the pain any less.

For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves…” – Romans 8:22-23

I live in a fallen world, and experience sadness, despair, troubles, and feelings of hopelessness.   I’ve gone through things I never dreamed would have happened to me.  But I have learned that my life has certain periods, or seasons of good times and seasons of tough times.  There have been times I would have rather died than deal with what I had to deal with.  I’ve had times when I thought I was going to die.  But I also know the sun shines again after the storm.  It is so important to have hope.

As much as I wish these things would not come upon me, I realize I do not need to experience the hope, that eventually comes, too quickly.  God has a purpose in these things that happen to me.  I may not fully understand it, but that is where faith comes in.  I believe He will show Himself mighty through the storm.  These circumstances have a function in my life.  Most often, a lesson is learned, and I am better and stronger for having gone through the fire.

The Jews of old spent much of their time in the wilderness, suffering the discipline of God, in order for them to learn to trust Him.  I should be learning to trust Him more when I go through these trials.

But, I do need hope.  I need to know that hope is coming.  I may want that hope immediately, but it may be best for me to suffer for a little while.  I’m not sure it is always good to be relieved of the trial too quickly.  I often want my problems fixed right away, or somebody to help me out of the predicament.  But the Lord has allowed me these circumstances to develop the character and hone the virtues I so desperately need.  If I do not adequately deal with my trial, I may not learn the humbling lessons of life the Lord is trying to teach me.  Staying in the period of trial long enough may allow me to become softened and more ready to hear that word of hope that God offers me.

Paul wrote in:

For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.” – Romans 15:4 

Patience here means “endurance, or perseverance”.  Comfort means “solace”.  Hope means “expectation”.

We have many examples and stories of inspiration within the Bible, especially the Old Testament, to teach us lessons – for us to understand that we are not any different.  We, too, must endure the hardships, the trials, and even the discipline of the Lord.  He disciplined the Israelites because He loved them; and He does the same for me.

Lord, as You continue to sanctify me, I pray that I will have the patience to understand I need these disciplines so I might be recreated in the image of Jesus.  I submit my heart, my life, my all into Your hands to mold me and make me into what You want me to be.  Amen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nolan kelley permalink
    February 2, 2012 10:15 pm

    thank you for these words……

  2. February 3, 2012 9:43 am

    You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

