Skip to content

January 28 – My Body of Sin Is Destroyed

January 28, 2012

“Dearly beloved, I beseech you as strangers and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul; Having your conversation honest among the Gentiles: that, whereas they speak against you as evildoers, they may by your good works, which they shall behold, glorify God in the day of visitation.” – 1 Peter 2:11-12

As a believer in Jesus Christ, I remain in a constant battle against sin.  The Apostle Peter exhorts me to “abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul…”  James tells me that “every man is tempted when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed” (James 1:14). The Apostle Paul instructs me that these temptations are common to all men.  With these facts in mind, what am I to do?

Why would Peter say to abstain (stay away from) fleshly lusts if it were not possible to do?  Why would he say this if it didn’t matter?  Fact is, it does matter.  If the teaching of the Bible was, that I am saved no matter how I continue to live, why would it be important enough to Peter to instruct us to stay away from sin?  The fact is it does matter!

“What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?   God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein? Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?   Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.  For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection:  Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.” – Romans 6:1-6

My life should be a new walk, different from my old life of sin.  Because I am new, the body of sin must be destroyed.  I must not be a slave to sin any long, rather, a slave to the power of the Holy Spirit.

How am I to ever experience the victory over sin Paul talks about in Romans 6?  How do I daily experience victory over sins I struggle with?  The answer is found in Proverbs 16:6, By mercy and truth iniquity is purged: and by the fear of the LORD men depart from evil”.  When I have a true fear of the LORD, and respect for His mercy and truth, my sin will be expunged.  Rather than yielding to temptation and evil, I will depart from it.  I need to develop this fear and a holy respect of God.  When I do this, I will be led by His Holy Spirit to flee from sin.  I must remember, Jesus came to save His people from their sins; not to save them, then leave them in their sins.

Thank You, Lord, for guiding my every step.  I turn my heart to You, and therefore, my body to Your service.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 8:24 am

    i see it too, an attitude that says i love one way but live another.

Leave a Reply

