Skip to content

January 27 – Do I Really Know Him?

January 27, 2012

 “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” – John 17:3

I yearn to really know God.  I yearn to be more faithful and pleasing to Him.  I long to do God’s will in a more fulfilling way than I have in the past.  Because I have come to Jesus, and have submitted to Him as my Savior and Lord, I join in His mission to reconcile a lost world to God.  Yet God has far more in store for me than simply me doing something for Him.  He wants me to experience an intimate relationship with Him that is genuine and personal.  To know eternal life is to know Him.  To know Him is to know eternal life.  To know Him is to learn Him, to understand Him, to be keenly aware of who He is, to experience Him, and to be sure of Him.  The word, “know” carries with it these ideas. How well do I really know Him?

The heart of eternal life is for me to know God and to know Jesus Christ whom He has sent.  Knowing God comes through a relationship with God.  Through this relationship, He reveals Himself, His purposes, and His ways; and He invites me to join Him where He is already at work.  When I obey, God will accomplish through me something only He can do.  Then I come to know God in an even more intimate way by experiencing God at work through my life.

John 10:10 says, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”  Am I experiencing this life?  Not as much as I should.  I can have it “more abundantly” by opening my Bible, listening to His word, and then responding in obedience to what He teaches me.

Leave a Reply

