Skip to content

January 26 – More Holiness Give Me

January 25, 2012

“And the Lord make you to increase and abound in love one toward another, and toward all men, even as we do toward you:  To the end he may stablish your hearts unblameable in holiness before God, even our Father, at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ with all his saints.” – 1Thessalonians 3:13

Here’s an old song I sang at church last night that really spoke to my heart.  It really encouraged me in my walk.

More holiness Give Me

Verse One

More holiness give me, more strivings within; More patience in suffering, more sorrow for sin;

More faith in my Savior, more sense of His care; More joy in His service, more purpose in prayer.

Verse Two

More gratitude give me, more trust in the Lord; More pride in His glory, more hope in His word;

More tears for His sorrows, more pain at His grief; More meekness in trial, more praise for relief.

Verse Three

More purity give me, more strength to overcome; More freedom from earth-stains, more longings for home;

More fit for the Kingdom, more useful I’d be; More blessed and holy, more, Savior, like Thee.

Lord, I make this song my prayer to You.  May I be pliable in Your hands and may you create in me a new heart, grounded in holiness, that others might see your strength in my weakness.  Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:05 pm

    Having a huge crisis with this right now. Know what’s right, can feel the feelings, but can’t engage; like I’m watching a movie or looking through a telescope. It’s really getting to me. End up exhausted and depressed at the end of the day. I haven’t been able to find comfort in the Scriptures or in hymns or prayer. I was happily walking the Path, must’ve missed a trail marker, and now feel like a turtle on his back. Any exercise you can recommend to get back in the game, so to speak?

  2. January 26, 2012 8:33 pm

    Cindy, first of all, thank you for your honest appraisal of your condition. Too many of us are very successful at wearing our masks and not willing to confront it. Second, you must know beyond anything else in your thinking that your God loves you deeply and truly does care for you. God has a plan and a purpose for your life and He wants to help you with it. Let’s visit about a strategy to get back in the game. I think there are methods and approaches that can help, for sure. Let’s talk.

  3. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 22, 2012 9:04 pm

    And Amen and Amen!! Papa

Leave a Reply

