Skip to content

January 25 – Shall I Continue In Sin?

January 25, 2012

“What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?  God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?” Rom 6:1-2

Any time I choose to stop fighting against sin simply because I think, “Oh well, at least I’ve got God’s grace; it will cover my sin!”  I am then guilty of tempting God.  Contrary to what some may say, this simply is not God’s plan.  As I try to look at salvation from God’s perspective, I realize that I am saved by the blood of Jesus Christ; not by my deeds.  He is salvation to me.  He did everything!  He paid the price for the debt I owed.

However, from my perspective looking Heavenward, I owe Him everything I have:  my whole soul, body, mind and spirit.  I owe Him my life.  It should never be assumed that because God’s grace covers all of my sin, and continually cleanses me from my daily sins, that I don’t have a responsibility to live my life in a manner reflective of my commitment to Him.  The Apostle Paul, who wrote so much about God’s saving grace, said, “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” – Rom 12:1

Because God has chosen to save me, and has justified me through the sacrificial blood of the Lord Jesus, my Savior, on the Cross; and because he has a plan to sanctify me and cleanse me in this life; and because He seeks to save me in spite of myself; I should continually respond to Him with a sacrificial heart.  Because of what He did for me, I should increase my obedience to Him by living a life so fully dedicated and committed, that when I struggle with temptations, I conquer them through Jesus Christ, my Lord.  I overcome them by the power of the Holy Spirit in my life.  The same Spirit that quickened (brought to life) and raised Jesus from the tomb to live in a resurrected body, is the same Spirit that brings me to life and raises me from a dead life into a resurrected life in Jesus Christ.  The battle is His, and He always wins!

I can never repay Him for what He has done for me.  But that’s not the point.  My motivation is not to have “enough” works, that somehow He will finally forgive me.  That is erroneous thinking.  He’ll do His part exactly like He said He would.  But will I?  When I came to Him in obedience of the Gospel, I answered His call to follow Him.  I vowed, by faith, to accept His sacrifice for my sins, and to accept Him as Lord.  He is Lord, therefore, I will submit.  What He says I will do.  Where He goes, I will go.  Where He leads me, I will follow.  For only Jesus has the words of eternal life (John 6:68).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. laurie Huntley permalink
    January 25, 2012 1:36 am

    Again, I fall to: How dare we grieve the Holy Spirit?……….

    Question: Rom 6:1-2 “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?”

    Answer: Eph 4:30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption……………..

    What other directives do we want? One that is easier? One we like better? One that let’s us “have our cake and eat it too”? Guess what, it doesn’t work that way! Like us, (we as parents)- we do not like to see our children choosing to do things contrary to God’s directives. I’m supposing God looks to us similarly when we choose adversely, and it grieves the Holy spirit.

    I pray daily, that my actions are pleasing and would not grieve God! His gift to me deserves a WHOLE LOT more than that!

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 22, 2012 9:01 pm

    An excellent summation of that passage. Thanks Papa

Trackbacks

  1. 120125–George Hach’s Journal–Thursday | George Hach's Blog

Leave a Reply

