Skip to content

January 24 – He Has Room For Me In His Service

January 24, 2012

“Then Jesus answering said unto them, Go your way, and tell John what things ye have seen and heard; how that the blind see, the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, to the poor the gospel is preached.” – Luke 7:22

Over the years, I have asked the question, “Lord, who am I?  What can I do?  I have so little to offer.”  I now know He has a plan for me, but this was not always easy to see.  When I take an honest look at individuals throughout history in the Bible, I see that God has always used people in His service who were not much different from me.  These individuals were not exceptional people, they were normal people who went about their daily business dealing with life issues.  They were often the people who could not contribute to the general welfare of their communities.

Who would’ve thought that Jesus would attend unto the needs of the blind, the lame, the lepers, and the deaf?  Nobody would even touch a leper!  Yet, we see Jesus reaching forth His hand and offering a healing touch.  They were the outcasts, the untouchables, they were from the slums, the bad parts of town, filthy; why would He spend His time working with people like this?  Why?  What Jesus saw in these “helpless” people was not filth and uselessness.  He saw their need for a Savior.  It was not about what others saw in them.  Jesus had true empathy and compassion.  He had love that was unselfish.  Jesus sees the heart, and He always responded to their faith.  He sees lost souls.  He could use them in His service even when others couldn’t.

So, what about me?  Am I blind to the truth?  Am I deaf, or do I refuse to hear the Lord’s commands?  Am I lame, unable to walk in righteousness?  Do I have spiritual leprosy, full of disease and feelings of separation from God’s people?  I was dead, and now I am alive!  Jesus’ arms are not any shorter today than they were then.  He reaches down and touches my very being, the very essence of who I am and cleanses me from all my infirmities; and forgives me.  I need His touch.

Even with the imperfections of these people, God still had room for them.  He desired them to be in His service.  Sinners, like me, were touched, healed and forgiven by the Master.  And he has counted me, as well, worthy of His grace.

Lord, thank You for the Gospel.   Thank You for salvation.  I now choose to walk in Your footsteps as closely as I can.  I may not be sure how You will use me, but I know You desire to have me sitting at the banquet table where the feast is spread.  You have rescued me from the hold of sin in my life.  You have made me whole.  Thank you, and all praise to Your matchless name!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Randall permalink
    January 24, 2012 11:44 am

    Jesus truly sees the value of each and every soul, saint and sinner alike. May we all open our eyes to see it also. Thanks Leland

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:16 pm

    Leland thank you for this for this is a lesson I have just with the last year or so have come to realize the truthfullness of. Thank you so much.Papa

Leave a Reply

