Skip to content

January 23 – My Spiritual Life Is Fragile

January 23, 2012

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the LORD that will stand.” Pro 19:21 

I’ve come to appreciate the fact that life is very fragile due to some of the experiences my family has endured over the years.  While others have certainly experienced more devastating events from personal tragedies to loss of loved ones, I have had enough happen, it causes me to re-think some things.  For instance, our 14 year son had a bicycle accident three weeks ago fracturing his skull in two places.  He was flown by helicopter to Texas Children’s Hospital where he spent a week of his life.  For the first 48 hours, my wife and I were not sure if he was going to survive and whether he would have any long-term effects.  Through many prayers and the grace of God, he is back home and doing well.  Incidents like this really reminds me of just how fragile life is.

I have often approached this life as if I am bullet-proof; as if my skin won’t cut, and my bones won’t break.  Sadly, I have also done this with my spiritual life.  I have approached life as if my sinful behavior will not hurt me or anyone else in my life—and the result?  Pain, hurts, offenses, and broken hearts.  NOTE: The body can be cut, the bones will break, and it will die.  My soul can be injured, I can break down emotionally and spiritually, and I can die spiritually.

God made me a special creation.  I should live to honor Him all the days of my life.  My body was made for the Lord, and the Lord for the body (1 Cor 6:13).  Problem is, I have often wanted to cut my own path in the world.  In essence, I have become my own god choosing to do my own thing, not acknowledging God at all.  In so doing, I have lowered myself to the lowest standards of life, accepting and participating in things that not only does not honor God, but things that destroy my spiritual life.

I have determined to focus on God and His promises this year like I have never done before.   It is requiring an incredible amount of humility.  While the humility part is difficult, once I truly position myself in complete submission to Him, it is then easy to obey.  Getting to the humble part is what is hard.

Life is short.  We are not promised tomorrow, so I don’t want to waste my time in things that destroy my soul; rather, I will live each day for the Lord.  I give Him my life fully and completely.  He owns me.  He made me with a purpose to honor Him in everything I do.  I do not want to disappoint my Creator.  I have only this very moment to do the right thing:  I will choose carefully.

Personally, I’ve chosen to live life to its fullest, experiencing the joys of being a Christian.  I’ve decided to not let another day go by without spending time in God’s Word (for how can I live without it?).  I’ve chosen to wrap myself up in Christian fellowship.  I will seek the purpose of the Lord for my life each day I live.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. laurie Huntley permalink
    January 23, 2012 2:04 am

    Leland, I enjoy these posts.

    I have resolved not, to do nothing. By that I mean, when prompted by the Holy spirit to DO something, I will no longer push it aside (saying, “someone else is better able”). I will seek my Father and ask his Guidance, and take the steps set before me. If we Christians do this once a week, out of all the things we feel prompted to act on,. imagine what a difference it will make in this world. OH, and imagine if we DON’T grieve the Holy spirit, by our inactivity toward ALL the prompts we receive! How dare we put off the things God has set before us………………….

  2. Nolan kelley permalink
    January 23, 2012 11:52 pm

    Leland….it seems we are at the same place in our christian life. I too have been making some serious changes in my relationship with my creator. It encourages me in my walk to know I am not alone, my brother in christ is walking the same road!

    • January 24, 2012 6:16 am

      Nolan, I feel the same way. Thank you for the encouragement. Not only do we have each other, we have the Father’s loving hand upon us!

  3. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:09 pm

    Truly a lesson for all disciples is here are we listening? Papa

Leave a Reply

