Skip to content

January 22 – Can I Resist the Temptation?

January 22, 2012

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 1 Cor 10:13

I have to ask myself questions occasionally.  Questions like, How much do I believe in the Lord?  Enough to do something about it?  Enough to live my life as He would have me live?  Enough to submit to Him fully?

These are important aspects of Christian living I have to honestly evaluate in light of living an acceptable life before God.  I hear this taught all the time, yet I have a tough time living up to it in my life.  God has promised me divine help if I will but seek Him for it.  One such promise is found in this passage.  He has promised I would never be tempted with anything that is not commonplace for man.  Nothing unusual, nothing out of the ordinary.  He has promised that He will not allow me to be tempted beyond my ability to resist.

First of all, I am in awe of these promises.  I’ve been tempted by some pretty strong passions and have not always resisted.  In fact, at times, I have questioned my ability to resist because the temptations are so powerful.  But that’s where I go wrong in my thinking.  Understanding that I cannot resist sin (on my own) is crucial to my understanding of faith in God.  In this promise, God never said I was on my own.  He never expected me to resist temptation on my own.  I have been missing a very important lesson in these verses.  Paul wrote, “But God is faithful…”  Wow, what a revelation.

Do I believe Him?  Do I believe what Paul said here?  Can I trust that God is faithful?  If I believe He is telling me the truth, then I should be walking by faith.  Walking by faith means I will trust Him in all things.  I will believe Him when He says He will do something.  Therefore, if I believe Him, then I will trust Him.  If I trust Him, then I must believe what Paul said here.  I must believe He is faithful.  If God is faithful, then He will perform everything He says He will exactly as He says it will happen.  He is faithful.  I can count on Him to keep His word.  What have I been doing?  Why have I been fighting this battle on my own?  He is with me in this struggle.  It’s not that I have to look for the way of escape on my own; I’ve been promised God WILL provide the way of escape.  I’m not alone in this battle.  My God is there to provide the way!  It’s not that I am having to bear it alone; He is there to provide me the grace and power to overcome it.

With this assurance, my response to God’s promises should be as James spoke of in James 4:7-8 when he said,“Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.”

I pray my heart is purified through faith in His Spirit to search me and cleanse me.  I must believe in the promise by resisting the devil.  God said the deceiver would flee from me.  I must believe in the promise that if I draw close to God, He will draw close to me.  God close to me… think about it:  when this happens, sin will have no place in my life.  I think I will submit to God, it just makes sense.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 4:10 am

    He is faithful,, What a God!
    (Paul)

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:04 pm

    Boy this is great stuff. Tahnks Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Thinking About What Could Have Been « Broken Believers
  2. Don’t Tolerate Temptation! Submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. « bummyla

Leave a Reply

