Skip to content

January 21 – Redemption in Christ, Not Works

January 20, 2012

“For while we were living in the flesh, our sinful passions, aroused by the law, were at work in our members to bear fruit for death.” Romans 7:5 (ESV)

There was a time in my life when I knew no sin.  I was happy.  The thought of sin did not cross my mind and I didn’t know my actions could be considered sinful.  My conscience was clear for the most part.  I felt no guilt of sin.  I was a good person.  I did what I thought was right.  However, when I learned of God, and listened to His commands, I realized I was in sin.  He said in the law (Romans 7:7), “You shall not covet.” Once He said this, it revealed and exposed my sin of covetousness.  I then understood what that sin was.  The same is true with other sins.  The law was brought in to teach me what sin was, and that I should refrain from it.  But I did not know I had sin in my life until I heard from God’s word about it.

“But sin, seizing an opportunity through the commandment, produced in me all kinds of covetousness. For apart from the law, sin lies dead.  I was once alive apart from the law, but when the commandment came, sin came alive and I died.” Rom 7:8-9 (ESV)

Much like when I was a child, once I heard a “No, no!  Don’t touch that,” I was immediately tempted to touch it.  When I was told I was not allowed to do something, I then wanted to do it.  When I did, I suffered the consequences of my actions.  So it is, in the flesh, my sinful tendencies produces the fruit of death.  There is no hope within this law of sin and death.  I want to return to the state of feeling no guilt.  I want freedom from this punishment of my sin.  Is this possible?  How? 

What I need is a Savior.  There is liberty in Christ.  Jesus is the only one who ever fulfilled the law without sin.  I cannot obey the law in all points, neither could the scribes and the Pharisees.  He freed me from the guilt and punishment of the law of sin and death, and brought to me righteousness and life.  He became the final sacrifice for my sin.  I am free from the struggle attempting to keep the whole law, working my way into acceptance before God.  I must leave the law at the cross. That’s what Jesus did… He nailed it to the cross.  I cannot do enough works of the law; I cannot obey Him enough to satisfy Him or the debt I owe for my sin.  At what point does God look at my “good works” and say, “it is enough, you have arrived.?  Never.  He must look at me in pity when he says, “Your sins are paid for.  Stop trying to fight me.  Jesus already paid the price for your sins.”   

No more fighting and arguing with God that I must do enough to please Him.  No more thinking I am “good enough.”  No more thinking He will accept me if I can do enough or live my life without sin.  His sacrifice upon the cross was certainly enough.  His blood has washed my sins away and it still washes my sin-stains today!  I now can live my life with freedom and a pure heart full of gratitude for what He has done.  Wow, such peace!  I live now to please Him, not to satisfy myself that I have accomplished anything.  I honor Him, not my works.  There is no redemption in my own works.  Redemption is found in the work of Christ upon the cross of Calvary.  Thank you Jesus!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. DAVID COON permalink
    January 21, 2012 9:57 am

    Studying the same things, nothing but the spirit adorning the bride with the preemenance of relationship with Jesus

  2. Todd Larsen permalink
    January 21, 2012 12:01 pm

    You said, “But it was not counted as sin upon me until I heard from God’s word about it.” It sounds like you are implying that those who are ignorant of God’s word are blameless. What about conscience (Rom 2:14-5), and the conviction of the Holy Spirit (John 16:8)?

    • January 21, 2012 1:28 pm

      Thanks, Todd.

      No, did not mean to imply that, just incomplete thoughts! Too much babbling leads me to not complete thoughts. I definitely agree that conscience matters. Just stating, I desired to be back in the state of not feeling the guilt of sin. Could have explained this much better, in fact will go back and edit it, I think.

      There is a law unto ourselves, (inherently inside each one of us) like the Gentiles referred to in Romans chapter two. In fact, I think they are exactly the example us Pharisees (I mean this generally) should be looking to. They were a great example to us about the law written in their hearts. But some of us are so hardened (like me) who have to be slapped in the face with the “stone tablets” to wake me up so I will know and understand what is sin in my life. The Holy Spirit, I believe, does exactly that: convicts me of my sin to prompt change in my life. Again, a whole series of sermons can be written on this alone.

      Thanks for the correction! Hope you guys are doing well!

      • January 21, 2012 1:51 pm

        Wow, difficult to reword in the set number of words I’m trying to stay within. Too much information in Romans to cover this topic in little spirts! 🙂

        Hopefully, we’ll clear some of this up as we go on. Thanks again!

  3. Todd Larsen permalink
    January 23, 2012 4:24 pm

    Leland,
    Thanks. I would love to have some spiritual discussions like we used to do. I view many things a lot differently than I used to. I always thought you were wise to honestly challenge tradition (“prove all things”). I hope to make my way down there sometime, but not sure when. Take care.
    Todd

  4. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:02 am

    Good teaching there brother, I can only say Amen

Leave a Reply

