Skip to content

January 20 – He Feels My Pain

January 20, 2012

“For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.  Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” – Heb 4:15-16

I have had very close friends walk out of my life.  For reasons I have never been able to understand, and because they refused to explain their decision to walk in another direction, I have known loneliness.  I have felt the heart-rending pain associated with it.  There have been times in my life I have been accused of doing something wrong (rightfully so).  I hold no ill-will.  Actually, I am thankful for the correction because it has made me more accountable in certain areas of my life.  However, I have also felt the knives of false accusation.  I have suffered for wrongs I did not commit.  I have been mocked for my faith.  I have experienced the feelings (albeit inaccurately) of abandonment thinking that even God abandoned me.  Of course, this was not true, but it is what I felt at the time.

Because of these, and other experiences, I have also felt a deep compassion for others who have suffered some of the same negative experiences I have been through.  Because I have been through similar experiences, I can legitimately relate to the pain others may be going through.  It has allowed me at times to comfort and counsel others going through a circumstance I had previously dealt with.  It made me a better counselor simply because they knew I understood their pain.

But far beyond my empathy toward others is the fact that my Savior does the same thing for me.  He’s been there before me.  He’s felt the pain, loneliness, betrayal and every temptation I have felt.  Why is this important to me?  Because I then know He knows how to relieve me of any and all of my distress and suffering.  I can have confidence He will be with me to conquer the obstacle.  He is a mighty Savior who will not leave me alone to deal with these issues by myself.

Because He has been there before, I can call upon Him to help me bear this burden.  Because Jesus lived this life without sin, I know He has the right answer and path for me to follow.  I can now with boldness (confidence) go to the throne of grace for help.  This is a promise to all believers.  I continue to need His mercy as I walk on after the Spirit.  No matter how hard I try to live up to obedience, I fail.  However, because of what Jesus did for me, I will continue to pursue His ways, even though I will fall short.  I know I will never be in perfect obedience to everything the Holy Spirit may say.  But I thank God that He will sustain me more abundantly through the grace He provides me every day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 4:53 pm

    Great post! Jesus is our blessed assurance, isn’t He? I’m linking to this post for my latest article. Please drop by my blog sometime at the address below.

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:07 am

    Thank you so much for this.Papa

Leave a Reply

