Skip to content

January 19 – Cleaning Up My Spiritual House

January 19, 2012

“Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” – Psalm 119:11 

Life experience has told me that oftentimes I fail to notice the little things that make all the bigger things happen in life.  For example, in our household we have a host of chores that must be done.  However, we stay so busy trying to accomplish the big things in life that these things are, at times, let go.  The vacuuming, the dusting, the dishes after supper, cooking, and even cleaning the bathtub (among many others) are some of the things I am talking about.  When these things are left undone, the house begins to fall apart:  it gets dirty, attracts insects you really don’t want in the house, clutter begins to build, I lose things because it is tucked underneath the paperwork that should have gone in the trash.  But if all these things are taken care of and tended to, it makes for a more pleasant experience in the home.  I am then free to go do the bigger things.

The care for my soul is much the same way.  Many times I try to accomplish bigger and better things (in the name of the Lord) and forget to take care of the little things to properly care for my soul.  How much time did I take this last week to stop, say a prayer, or read a passage from God’s Word?  Not near enough.  Did I give any thought to where I am spiritually?  Not really.  If I am not taking care of my spiritual house, nourishing myself with the Bread of Life, how do I expect to be spiritually clean and healthy enough to do the things I desire to do for the Lord?  It directly affects my faith!  I must understand the direct correlation between reading and meditating upon the word of God and its ability to keep me from sin.  The more I hide His word in my heart, the less I sin.  The less I hide His word in my heart, the more I sin.  It’s not really that complicated.

I must take more time this week to spend quality time personally with my Lord.  This will help to clean up the clutter in my heart and will prevent the spiritual insects from invading and taking over my spiritual life.  I must rely upon the Holy Spirit to cleanse me and sanctify me, making me into what God wants me to be for eternity.  I must believe He will do everything He says He will do.  And when I learn to believe in Him absolutely, I will trust Him enough to listen to Him and I will trust Him enough to obey Him.

Teach me Lord to wait on You.  Show me the way, and light my path.  Reveal to me any area in my life that does not honor You.

I give thanks to You, for You are good, and Your mercy endures forever!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:11 am

    Leland, you have something going here that will bear fruit in years to come, keep up the good work.Papa

Leave a Reply

