Skip to content

January 18 – Glory in Tribulations

January 18, 2012

“And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope:  And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.” – Rom 5:3-5

It seems as though God answers prayer only some of the time, and not all the time.  Most of the time I am quick to give Him the praise and thanks when He says, “yes”;  but what about when God says “no” to my requests?  Am I able, like Paul, when he prayed earnestly to have that thorn removed from his flesh, to accept His grace as being sufficient?  Usually not.  In fact, I may grumble a bit and allow my frustration to get the best of me.  God hears and answers my prayers.  This I must learn.  However, I cannot assume He will afford me anything I ask, no matter what.  Sometimes I ask out of selfishness.  Sometimes I might not even know what to ask for.

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” – Rom 8:26

Sometimes, I need to quit asking and just simply praise Him.  Sometimes I forget that it rains on the just and the unjust (Mt. 5:45); and through these trials I perceive as “unanswered prayers,” I must remember– they may indeed be answered, but not according to my will.   It may also be answered as “no” and that, for my benefit.  In His infinite and unquestionable wisdom, I should be content to learn patience, gain the experience, and through this, be assured of the hope found only in Jesus Christ.  Through the Holy Spirit revealing the love of God in my heart, I can with confidence accept His will and be content.

The things that happen to me, the trials, the troubles… I can with hope, expect that He will work through these tribulations and bring me through any and all fires that come my way.  Ultimately, He will bring me through death and the grave, and into an eternity of heavenly bliss forever to praise Him on His throne.

God’s love for me should be a reminder to me that He knows best.  It should remind me to also give Him the glory when His answer is “no.”  I should acknowledge His absolute sovereignty and omniscience—he is Lord of my life and He alone knows what is best for me.  Can I not trust Him completely?  When I am able to accept God’s will in spite of my expectation, I can then rejoice even in times of sorrow and tribulation, learning the things God wants me to learn.  When I do this, He will be forming me into a closer representation of the Lord Jesus Christ.  Wow, I have a long way to go.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:22 am

    To see the end from the beginning takes years of living. only after years of these struggles do we begin look back over our lives and see how God has been working in our lives. Oh what beauty there is when you look back over you life and see how the “Hand of God” was there in your life at those times when you could not see because of ourselves.. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. What Stamps Are on Your Believer’s Passport? | Metropolitan Gleanings

Leave a Reply

