Skip to content

January 17 – Crucified With Christ

January 17, 2012

“I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” – Gal 2:20

If I am crucified with Christ, then I have allowed Christ to completely destroy the works of the flesh in my life.  He has taken my sins and has washed them in His blood.  I am made white as snow.  To crucify literally means to put my desires to death.  Has this been fully accomplished in me?  I think not.  How is it then that Paul can say this?  Am I supposed to be where Paul was on this issue?  It seems so.  The only way possible for this to take place is to absolutely surrender my every selfish desire, my every thought, my everything, completely over to His will.  The only way I can do this is to allow Him to do it in me.  I can’t do it, only He can.  In other words, I need His power working through me.  My strength is nothing.  In fact, I am weak, He is the strong One.  To try it any other way would be to assume I had the power to overcome this flesh myself.

If I am crucified with Christ, I am also, then, risen with Him to walk a new life– I live!  My life should be distinctly different from my old life.  Instead of living in the flesh, I should walk in the Spirit.  I should not choose to live my life according to what I want in life, rather, choose for Christ to live in me.  And so, while living in the flesh, I do so through faith in Jesus who is my strength; He lives in me.  He will sustain me in the hour of trial.  He provides me the power to overcome the desires of the flesh.  All glory to God!

I must walk on then, remembering what it was He did for me at Calvary; and what it is He does for me today.  I keep saying it, but I must always remind myself – I must and will give up my will and submit to His.  Why do I fight for my will?  What eternal value would there be?  What is the will of God for me?  What is it He is urging me to do?  What is it He is asking me to give up for His glory?  I need more faith to trust Him to do what He said He would do.

I know I will be amazed at what Christ will do through me in service for the Kingdom when I let go, and let God!  May all glory be to the Lord!

Lord, I trust You to finish the work You began in me.  Thank you for your grace that teaches me so much.  May I continue to be humble before You.  May Your glory shine through.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:45 am

    Crucifiction is a vey painful death, which if the words of Christ is to taken seriously then giving up the things of this life may very well be painful to do, but they must be done. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Are You Crucified With Christ or a Punk for the World? | Metropolitan Gleanings

Leave a Reply

