Skip to content

January 16 – A Life That Honors The Lord

January 16, 2012

“This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.” – Matthew 15:8 

How sad to think I could be who Jesus is talking about.  I speak of Him.  I sing to Him.  I go to the assemblies to worship Him.  I even do good things for others as I have opportunity.  How can I possibly do all of this and not have my heart near Him?  How can I use my lips to praise and honor Him, yet my heart be far from Him?  It is amazing how well I have juggled looking good in front of people; but Jesus must see through all of the façade.

Like the scribes and Pharisees, I want those around me to think good of me.  I want them to think I am a great and humble servant who would sacrifice all for the cause of Christ.  However, the truth is, I am often self-centered and do what I want to do.  I often have gone to church to be served.  I have gone to the services to get recognized, win friends and gain influence.  I have done good works for the recognition and applause of men.  It feels good to have others patting me on the back.  To be recognized is a great feeling, but where is the redeeming value in it?  All it seems to do is drive me to seek after more attention and applause.  I become so infatuated with gaining credit for the deeds I perform, I lose the greatest reward the Lord has to offer.

Attending the assemblies is critical to my growth.  Doing good works is something I should be doing.  But doing them to feed my ego and pride is to draw all focus and attention away from the Savior.  To draw people toward me and not to the Lord is to place me (in value) above the Lord as if I am a god – one others should look to.  I should be ashamed.

If my heart is right in God’s sight, then I will be seeking to obey the Truth in every possible way.  I will submit myself to His will, meaning I will bow down before Him; and with me out of the way, all focus and all glory can be directed toward Him.  This does not mean I will always do every thing right—but it does mean I will honestly and sincerely make every effort.  My heart will be pure behind every action, every word, and even every thought!  It means I will search for His will and discover what God wants for me in my life.  It also means I will make no excuse, but will take action to correct anything I have been doing wrong.

I need to do the things I do solely for the purpose of serving Christ by serving others.  I will go to the worship services with a heart to contribute something, yes, to offer myself and to praise only Him.  Can I find somebody who needs to be ministered to?  Can I find within myself a heart that longs to serve and not be served?  Can I fully worship God with my life in a way that honors Him with mouth, my lips, and my whole heart?

“For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.” – Luke 9:24

Dear God, I refuse to be satisfied with where I am in my relationship with You.  I know I have so much to change in my life and in my heart.  I lay all my selfish pride down and submit to you.  I want to grow and mature as your servant.  Show me how, teach me, and increase my faith.  Give me the grace to be more spiritually minded; and may I seek to reveal and expose You in every good work I may do.  May I show to others clearly that it is You who works in me and through me.  You laid down your life for me.  I will now lay my life down for You.  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. noone permalink
    January 22, 2012 9:26 am

    Give me the grace to be more spiritually minded—-after every thought try to remember the phrase “everything for the lord”

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:38 am

    OUCH!! It really hurts when some one not just steps on your toes but worse when they walk all over them WOW! what a powerful message. Thanks Leland. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. 120117–George Hach’s Journal–Tuesday | George Hach's Blog

Leave a Reply

