Skip to content

January 15 – Making Room For The Lord

January 15, 2012

“But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear…” – 1Pe 3:15

My life gets so busy and full of activities.  I find myself overwhelmed with life sometimes.  My attention can be drawn to so many things.

The word “Sanctify” used here (in the Greek) is hagiazo, which means to make holy, to purify or consecrate; to venerate.  The Greek interlinear translates this passage like this, “But the Lord God sanctify in your hearts.”  The NIV renders it “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.”  Evident in this passage is the instruction for me to venerate (or honor) the Lord; also to set apart a place for the Lord in my heart.  As Peter was instructing those who were already part of God’s family, so he instructs me to do the same thing.  Although I am His child, I often find myself distracted by things of the flesh.  My heart can be so far from Him at times, I don’t even think of Him.  While I am consumed with life and its obligations, and its enticements and entertainment, my God calls out to me.  He longs for my focus and attention, for my dedication and loyalty.   Why is it so easy to lose my heart to so many other things?

I have choices to make each and every day which will either lead me closer to the Lord or will draw me away from Him.  My heart, so full of selfishness, becomes filled with the pleasures of this life and the desires of my heart.  It is ironic that while I find my heart full of worldly things, my life is emptier than ever and utterly unfulfilled.  What shall I choose to satisfy me?  Will it be my favorite TV show?  Will it be my job?  Will it be the football or basketball game, or some other sport?  Will it be another extra-curricular activity?  What about impure thoughts?  What about greed?  What about lust?  What about hatred?  What about envy?

I know Peter is speaking of the very core of Christian living:  a life that is solely dependent upon the Lord.  The Lord does not want to simply take up residence.  He wants me to fill my heart with everything that is of Him.  If I will allow the Lord access to my heart, the other things that appealed to the flesh will be diminished.  There will be no room for these things, or thoughts, greed, lust, hatred or envy to have a place.

Filling my mind with spiritual things will keep me from sin and will draw me into the relationship He desires.  Col 3:2 says this “Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.” 

I will determine to focus more on spiritual things.  I will give more diligent attention to what I am putting in my heart.  Thank you Lord for your willingness to be patient with me while I grow up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 12:02 pm

    Beautiful admonition, thanks. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Open My Eyes « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

