Skip to content

January 14 – Hiding His Word In My Heart

January 14, 2012

“Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” – Psalm 119:11

How much time did I give to personal study of God’s Word this week—An hour? 30 minutes? 10 minutes? None?  I must confess, I gave about 10 minutes on two occasions this week.  Who-hoo!  I am so spiritual! (sarcasm).  The Lord must be broken-hearted.  His “servant” has neglected to serve.  His “disciple” has failed to disciple.  His “student” has failed to learn.  His “follower” has failed to really follow in His steps.  I have failed to spend quality time in prayer.  I’ve not spent time in study and meditation so I could have a word from God to listen to.  This surely explains the wrong response I had when that driver cut me off on the freeway yesterday; or the time I lost my cool with the tax office; or my moment of impatience with the kids.  My attitude and response to situations that present themselves before me were all opportunities to make Godly decisions—to respond in a way that would glorify God.  I fell short.  I had multiple opportunities for my life, and the principles I profess to live by, to shine as a testimony to what God can do through me.  I didn’t live up to it.  How else will my associates ever desire to honor God themselves if I am shining no light for them to see?

I am saddened to imagine what God must think about my level of commitment to time spent investigating His words.  In practical terms, more study of God’s Word in my life will teach me to temper my responses to situations that surprise me; it will teach me to offer grace to others, to forgive, to pray for others more often.  The more I have the Bible in front of my eyes; the more I spend meditating upon God’s words; the more I hide God’s Word in my heart— the less I will sin against Him.

My God is so patient with me.  He is full of grace and mercy – nobody knows that more than me.  He knows my heart and my intentions, but I must determine to follow through with my commitment to Him in all areas of my life.  I’m going to make it a point to open the Bible every day (at least once) and gather some Bread to feast upon.  The Lord will surely bless me and make me fruitful in His Kingdom if I will but humbly receive His Word, and then act.

My Lord, I thank you for loving me.  I pray that you will use me even in small ways to minister to others with the saving power of the Gospel.  May your grace shine through my life and may those around me glorify You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:31 am

    All that is needed here is “Take it in” and live your life for the Master. Papa

Leave a Reply

