Skip to content

January 13 – Striving Against Sin

January 13, 2012

“Ye have not yet resisted unto blood, striving against sin.” Heb 12:4

Paul said all creation is groaning around us (Romans 8:22).  I live in a fallen world, and I, like everybody,  experience sadness, despair, troubles, and feelings of hopelessness because of sin.  Sometimes I want to throw my hands up thinking it is just not worth it.  I just can’t go on anymore.  Then I remember Jesus.  I remember what He did for me.  I remember how He strove and resisted the temptation to sin, and yes, unto blood.  Ultimately, and without sin, He went to the cross for me.

There are times when I have fought so hard.  I have tried to pull myself up by my own spiritual bootstraps, so to speak, and have failed numerous times.  I am learning my only hope for overcoming sin in my life is not by own strength, but by the power of the Spirit living in me.  It is only by His power that it is conquered.

In times past, I had thought that becoming a Christian meant my struggle against sin would end.  I guess I was thinking it was just one big picnic on a beautiful green lawn, where the flowers are in bloom and the butterflies flutter around a constant oasis of peace and serenity.  I think I was dreaming of Heaven.

I’ve never been promised life would be easy, but I have been promised He will go with me through the struggles.  The Apostles and early disciples of Christ in the first century were not promised a life without struggle either.  In fact, many of them were called to resist sin, even to the death.

I need to give up my will.  I need to accept that I will never be able to do it on my own.  I must accept that I need the Savior in order to overcome my sin.  No longer do I try it on my own, but only by His power!

Lord, please hear my song:

I’ve had enough, I can’t go on like this anymore,
I admit, my sin is great, my heart’s an open door;
I submit my stubborn heart to Your blessed Holy will,
I now commit my life to you, my Lord, I humbly kneel.

Jesus, I’m a broken man;
Jesus, Let me feel Your love again.
As I cry for mercy, Lord- Come and cleanse my sinful heart,
Give me peace within my soul, Oh my Lord, I love you so!

Please accept my humble plea as I bend down on my knee
Before Your Holy presence, Lord, and Your mercy seat.
Wash my soul and cleanse my heart, make me pure within,
White as snow- may I know- That I’m free from my sin.

Jesus, I’m a broken man;
Jesus, Let me feel Your love again.
As I cry for mercy, Lord- Come and cleanse my sinful heart,
Give me peace within my soul, Oh my Lord, I love you so!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 6:39 am

    Very thought provoking for us all who see ourselves as God sees us. Papa

Leave a Reply

