Skip to content

January 8 – Developing My Walk

January 12, 2012

“I…beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called…” Eph 4:1

I long for answers to life’s questions, such as, “Why am I here?” or “What does God have for me in life?” or “What is my purpose?”  I go to church every Sunday, yet I know there is more to Christianity than simply going through the routine and rites of worship.  Why is it that, as a Christian, I often feel empty inside?  Why is it that I try to live the life I should, yet still fall short of what God wants for me to be?  Can there be a more dedicated life for my children than I had?  How can this be accomplished?

These questions have burned within me since the birth of our firstborn.  I was certain of my salvation, yet uncertain of God’s calling on my life.  For years I have been left wondering about my purpose in life.  I knew I should do more for Christ, but didn’t know where to start.  I have knowledge of truth, but to practically implement it into a fulfilled life that is pleasing before God is something entirely different.  The real question is… How do I turn the knowledge of Christ in my life into a practical and genuine Christian walk?

I admit, I live with sins that constantly haunt my life.  Why must I (seemingly) have to live with this struggle day after day?  When publicly asked, I am often the first to admit I go to church; yet when faced with a personal challenge, I know assuredly that (many times) I fail to be everything I need to be.  Does this make me a hypocrite?  Is it even possible to shake this sin and live without the haunting guilt that plagues me?  How do I rise above the norm into a life of godliness blessed by God: a life my children will observe, appreciate and emulate?

I must develop and equip myself to live and walk in Biblical faith.  This does not mean I live a totally sin-free life.  What it does mean is this:  My heart should always show itself to be pure in motivation and in action.  My speech and my actions should also show the same.  It is a life which shows full repentance and a genuine effort to forsake the sins that beset me.  I must remember, in order to break this cycle of being a “lukewarm” Christian, I need to embrace His Spirit in my life, the internal motivation that enables me to fulfill Jesus’ proclamation, “Ye are the light of the world.”

Too many times, my life has been empty and unfulfilled because I was focused solely upon myself and not upon my Savior.  When I am caught up in worldly goods, entertainment, leisure, and self-gratifying lifestyles, there is no time for worship in my life.  I must develop my discipleship in fruitful and lasting ways in the Lord.  If I will do this, I will experience and enjoy the hope and confidence there is in being a child of God.

In a nutshell:  I’ve got to get back to a full appreciation of what was done for me at the cross; and in response, fully devote my life in a meaningful relationship with the Lord.  Unless I possess this kind of relationship with the Lord, I will likely never know the true joy and peace that God provides; nor will my walk with the Lord be everything it should be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    January 13, 2012 1:00 am

    Thanks for doing this Leland! I really enjoyed reading your comments! I’ve thought about this recently. I really want a closer relationship with my Lord and Saviour. I know I am saved but feel I fall short in so many ways. Thanks again for sharing!

    • January 13, 2012 7:54 am

      I don’t think it is uncommon at all, which speaks to the need. I will pray for your Christian walk and I solicit the same from you. God bless.

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 7:07 am

    If I understand this piece correctly it seems it fits my life much like the proverbial glove. Can it be that we have accepted Christ’s forgiveness but have never forgiven ourselves? Let me hear or read some discussion on this. Papa

Leave a Reply

