Skip to content

January 7 – True Worship

January 12, 2012

“For we are the circumcision, which worship God in the spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh.” – Philippians 3:3

Spiritually speaking, I have been circumcised in heart and am set apart as a child of God.  My heart is turned toward following my Lord and I must not be confident in anything of the flesh.  True worship is giving God the best He has given me.  It is not keeping things of this life for myself, but willing to use everything He has given me to service for Him.  Whenever He blesses, I should give it back to Him.  I struggle with the ability to do this and know it can only be done because of the Lord living in me.  My inclination is to selfishly hoard things for my use.  Yet, I should take time to pray and fast before God and offer the blessing back to Him in a deliberate act of worship.  If I choose to keep it to myself, it will turn into spiritual decay, just as the manna did when it was hoarded by the Jews of old.  God’s desire is not for me to keep the blessings all to myself, but to give back to Him.  He may then choose to use it for others and allow me to be the means.

Worship is more than just going to church.  I believe strongly in the ministry of the church -Christ shed His blood for it.  Even the local congregation is important for so many reasons.  But worship is about my everyday living before him in a selfless manner, leaning solely upon His will for my life.

I don’t know how or if God measures the value of my worship, but I do know that the depth of my relationship with Him is dependant upon my private time of fellowship and oneness with Him.  Just simply running in and out of worship is wrong.  Simply checking off the list of “going to church” is a trap.  While I should be actively supporting my local congregation and present when the doors are open, I must reach beyond just the corporate worship and devote myself wholly to the Father, even in a daily quiet time with God.  Our world gets very noisy around us.  Just as I should not hop in and out of church with no thought for worship at other times, I also should not allow the noise of this world to distract me.  I need to remove myself from the distractions of the world also and spend time alone with God.  Worshipping God in my spirit, with my whole heart is the answer to overcoming the flesh!

Thank you Jesus for loving me so.  Thank you for giving me reason to worship!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

