Skip to content

January 11 – Words That Destroy

January 12, 2012

“Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:…” – Philippians 2:3-5

I am amazed at the freedom I often feel to say anything I want at the expense of others.  Words that cut deep.  Words that hurt.  Words that are disparaging.  Words meant to cause doubt.  Words that pit one against another.  And why?

Insecurity?  Envy?  Power?

Why would I do this?  What scripture shall I quote?  Do I really need to?  I know what the tongue is capable of doing.

I am called to be an encourager -one who builds others up.  The first and primary way I do this is with my words.  I should desire to “bear one another’s burdens.”  I should be praying for others.  I am supposed to consider others better than myself.  These are the Christ-like qualities I should be striving to possess.  That’s exactly what Christ did for me, did He not?  He considered me more valuable than His own life.  Can I not do the same thing for others?  I should consider Jesus upon the cross.  He uttered nothing in retaliation, but gave me an example of how I should walk before others.

On the flip side, I need not jump to conclusions and become easily offended when some discouraging word is said to me.  I must be mature.  To be mature is to be like Christ.  I must exhibit patience.  I must be forgiving.  Again, sometimes things are said that were never intended to hurt.  But because I am insecure and want to read something more into a given statement, it is easy for me to assume ill-intent.  My feelings get hurt and I harbor hard-feelings toward the offender.  This, too, is contrary to what Christ would have me to do.

When I was young, my mother often told me to “always assume the good in people”.  I know… a little cliche’-ish, nevertheless, it’s true.  When my intent is to interpret what I hear through the ears of envy and self-righteousness, it will always assume doubt and ill-will.  It will never build up.

Jesus has called us all to peace.  I will determine to make every effort to guard my tongue.  I will make every effort to bless others, and not curse them.  I will be an encourager, not a discourager.

It boils down to this… If humility is exhibited on both sides of an issue, peace will always prevail.  If it is on only one side or neither side, it will always end in conflict and division.  I must be humble.  I will be my brother’s servant.  If I will do this, it will be the first step in building bridges and bringing reconciliation with God and with those in my circles.  Nothing can then stop the influence and the love of God in my life.  All glory to God!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie McKee permalink
    January 20, 2012 12:24 pm

    Way to go,my brother! Compassion is born out of knowlege of the path others are walking.
    Experience is the only way we can really understand what someone is going through. The wonderful thing is that our Lord always understands.

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 6:54 am

    In Hebrews 10:24 we read; “Let us consider one another to provoke unto love and good works.” This to me means that there is careful planning involved to make sure I arouse the right feelings and emotions in my “neighbor” before I start showing off my “knowledge” and learn first how the Savior did it.Papa

Leave a Reply

